Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rebuild customized rpm with cpanel/whm, but rpmbuild requires http-devel

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by sheepcross, Jun 13, 2017.

  1. sheepcross

    sheepcross Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Guys,

    I follow the instructions here:

    How to Build and Install Custom RPMs - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Try to re-build a customized src.rpm.

    I encounter following error at the step trying to run rpmbuild -bb

    Code:
    cat: /usr/include/httpd/.mmn: No such file or directory
    error: Failed build dependencies:
            httpd-devel >= 2.0.46-1 is needed by php-5.3.27-2.i386
    On the other hand though, cpanel excluded httpd* in the yum.conf.

    And yum search ea-apache24-devel also returns no found.

    Code:
    root@host [~/rpmbuild]# yum search ea-apache24-devel
    Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
    Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
     * rpmforge: mirror.nexcess.net
    Excluding Packages in global exclude list
    Finished
    No Matches found
    Operating system is CentOS 5.7 i686. I have CentOS, rpmforge and webtatic repos.

    I also tried something funky like:

    Code:
    root@host [~/rpmbuild]# APXS2=/usr/bin/apxs  PATH=$PATH:/usr/bin rpmbuild -bb /root/rpmbuild/SPECS/php53.spec
    cat: /usr/include/httpd/.mmn: No such file or directory
    error: Failed build dependencies:
            httpd-devel >= 2.0.46-1 is needed by php-5.3.27-2.i386
    Anyway, the reason I want to rebuild php 5.3.27 is actually trying to get php-devel-5.3.27-2.w5.i386.rpm for another box ( it's long gone from webtatic archive, or anywhere on the web ).

    And the reason why that "another box" still using php 5.3.27 and CentOS 5.7 is another story.

    The problem itself is not hard to walk-around, maybe a repo with valid ea-apache24 ( which I did search but no luck ), or maybe someone kind enough to share his/her php-devel-5.3.27-2.w5.i386.rpm with me.

    After all I guess I still want to know how to solve the issue when some linux pkg need httpd-devel and that's a cpanel server.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    That's the correct package name, and I confirmed the following command works well:

    Code:
    yum install ea-apache24-devel
    However, keep in mind this is only available with EasyApache 4. Since the system is using CentOS 5, then it's likely EasyApache 3 is installed. The better solution here would be to migrate the server away from CentOS 5. Is there anything in-particular that's preventing you from migrating to a newer OS?

    Thank you.
     
  3. sheepcross

    sheepcross Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes it's easyapache3. And the situation here is we need to run a quick update to CentOS 5 servers to expire retired ciphers. Migrating will take longer time than the deadline provided by our online bank.

    I'm new to those servers, and I want to make minimum modification, so I installed another customized curl with updated openssl. Now I just need to hook php with it. The plan is to phpize a new curl.so <= which need php-devel.

    What if I just install http-devel, rebuild this php-devel-5.3.27 rpm, then uninstall httpd-devel? Does this break anything for easyapache3?

    Regards,
    Chris
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try using the workaround instructions referenced on this post and let us know if that helps:

    Update cPanel to TLS 1.2 without modifying system files [php5 + curlssl + apache2.4.x]

    Thanks!
     
  5. sheepcross

    sheepcross Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Chris,

    I'm happy to see you were able to address the issue. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
Loading...

Share This Page