The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Receiving Mail Error

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by madtom, Aug 4, 2005.

  1. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have 2 mx records configured:

    'mail' prirority 5
    'mail2' priority 10

    'mail' goes to my mail server and works fine

    'mail2' goes to my ISP.

    When I down my server, email is routed to 'mail2' but they get bounced back with this error:

    user@domain.co.uk
    SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<user@domain.co.uk>:
    host mail2.domain.co.uk [65.xx.xx.xx]: 550-pih-relay05.ISP.net [212.xx.xx.xx] is currently not permitted to relay
    550-through this server. Perhaps you have not logged into the pop/imap server
    550-in the last 30 minutes or do not have SMTP Authentication turned on in your
    550 email client.

    Help ?

    I have read that I need to add 'domain.co.uk' to etc/localdomain

    Within my etc I have:
    domain.co.uk (folder)
    test.domain.co.uk (folder)
    subdomain.domain.co.uk (folder)
    .boxtrapper (folder)
    .imapv4cp5c (file 0 bytes)

    Help please !!

    Thanks
     
  2. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    anyone please..

    This is driving me mad.. :p

    I have to down my mailserver later and I don't want to lose any mail.

    I need it to go to 'mail2'..

    THANKS :confused:
     
  3. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    If you are trying to setup a back up mail server ...then you have completed the first step by creating two MX records....does 2nd one is also a cpanel server running exim?....if yes then add your desired domains to /etc/secondarymx file at your ISP's server...you realy need to ask your ISP for help.
     
  4. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi.

    I control the domain's DNS, this is not done through cPanel..

    The MX records seem fine, and when I down my server email seems to be hitting 'mail2' but thats when I get the error..

    I have no files or folders in etc/ that are called:

    localdomain (is that the file name ? or would it be called domain.co.uk ???)
    remotedomain
    secondarymx

    I only have the files and folders I listed above !!

    Thanks
     
  5. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    If its your server then login with root...else better to ask you hosting provider for support .
     
  6. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've logged this with my ISP.. waiting for a response !

    I keep seeing refernce to this error and adding the domain name to etc/localdomain

    Is localdomain a file called 'localdomain' or is it a localdomain as in 'domain.co.uk'

    IF it is a file, what do I need to create ?

    Thanks
     
  7. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    its /etc/localdomain NOT etc/localdomain. it will be there if its a Cpanel server running Exim.
     
  8. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm not sure if the server is running Exim..

    When I ftp into my account I have etc off the root..

    In there I have the files and folders listed !!

    Help :confused:
     
  9. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorted by ISP ! :)

    "remove and add you from localdomains and remotedomains"

    Thanks
     
  10. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hmm.. slight problem.

    Email from 'the outside' world is resolving to mail.domain.co.uk (my static IP)

    Email from my ISP is resolving to his server (mail2.domain.co.uk)

    I manage the DNS through 123-reg.

    I have created 'A' records for mail & mail2,
    I have the MX records of:

    mail.domain.co.uk 5
    mail2.domain.co.uk 10

    that bit works fine, its just the internal bit at my ISP !!

    Can anyone help ?
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Only your ISP can help if they aren't relaying email for your domain. Have you asked them whether they actually provide secondary MX services?
     
  12. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've raised a ticket with them..

    I'm trying to do a couple of different things, I think that's what's causing the problem.

    I manage my own DNS through 123-reg.

    1. I run my own mail server, mail.domain.co.uk
    2. I want them to act as a backup mail server, mail2.domain.co.uk

    But I want all emails regardless of whether they are from the ISP or not to go to mail.domain.co.uk if it is live, if is not live then go to mail2.domain.co.uk

    I'm asking on here for advice, to try and help the ISP !! Not that I think they can't do it.. Just to try and speed things up !!

    Thanks
     
    #12 madtom, Aug 4, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2005
  13. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cheers I'll see what they come back with !
     
  14. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    As I said, if your ISP offers a secondary (backup) mail server service, then they should know what to do to configure their own mail servers to relay and queue email for your domain. If they don't offer such a services then obviously it will not work.
     
  15. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My host has configured itsself up as my secondary mail server..
    Email goes to them if my server is down, and is then forwarded to me once its back !!
    This seems to work fine..

    BUT !!

    Some emails are not coming through when my server is down.. They get bounched.
    I have searched for the error, but am stuck as what to do !

    Any ideas ??


    The error is:

    This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

    A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
    recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

    user@domain.co.uk
    SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<user@domain.co.uk>:
    host mail2.domain.co.uk [65.xx.xx.xx]: 550-Verification failed for <postmaster@xx.plus.com>
    550-unrouteable mail domain "xx.plus.com"
    550 Sender verify failed


    domain.co.uk resolves to my static IP
    user@domain.co.uk is a valid user
    mail2.domain.co.uk resolves to my Host

    xx.plus.com resolves to my static IP (this is an address supplied by my DSL ISP)
    postmaster@xx.plus.com is a valid user

    Help Please ??
     
  16. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have verified the domains, mx records, email addresses etc using dnsreports.com

    any everything looks fine !

    Help
     
  17. madtom

    madtom Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    SORTED...

    Turns out xx.plus.com have been having DNS Issues...

    My isp cleared his DNS cache, restarted DNS and its working fine !!

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page