The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Receiving Spam

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by radar81, Feb 19, 2015.

1. radar81

radar81 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

I am new to administering a mail server. My websites and mail were previously through Bluehost shared, and were using this TXT record (which I do not understand): Screenshot (559).png

Recently, the websites and mail were migrated to a GoDaddy VPS. Since DNS changed, there has been a huge increase in spam being received by several email accounts. I have been reading a bit about SpamCop and Apache SpamAssassin™. I read that SpamCop could be too aggressive and has the potential to filter out legitimate emails. What do you all recommend? Please bear in mind I am a newbie to all this, thanks!

Radar

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

I suggest enabling SpamAssassin and reviewing the following thread for information on how to help prevent SPAM:

Additional Spam Prevention Options

Also, the following document lists some additional options you can enable to help prevent SPAM:

Exim - ACL Options

Thank you.

3. radar81

radar81 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Michael,

Thanks for the reply. I enabled SpamAssassin, and after a 24 hour trial, it did not sufficiently prevent SPAM. In fact, I cannot see that it had any effect.

I will enable SpamCop today and give this a trial run.

Best,
    Dave

4. radar81

radar81 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    SpamCop seems to be working effectively at filtering out Spam. I am just hoping that it's not filtering out false positives.

5. radar81

radar81 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator