The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recommended PHP caching program

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jonMEGA, Jan 10, 2007.

  1. jonMEGA

    jonMEGA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What PHP cache program do you use on your server? Does CPanel support any PHP caching programs?
     
  2. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    MMcache looks to be fine for Cpanel server but there are some users having issues on compiling during an upgrade of PHP version on Cpanel server. Search around the forum and you should be able to get more
     
  3. S-Combs

    S-Combs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Be careful with MMcache. I tried this some months ago and found that it broke vbulletin forums which I host a few of. There was no problem at first but after a couple of days all visitors got an mmcache warning when visiting any of those sites. Once the cache was emptied, they would be fine again until it built up again.
     
    #3 S-Combs, Jan 11, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2007
  4. dafut

    dafut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I run eaccelerator on 5 servers I manage. You can download it at SourceForge. If I recall properly, I ran into a couple problems with it not starting properly and had to make a couple minor edits in the php.ini file.

    Found an install script somewhere called "ea.txt" that only required minor edits (such as the latest eaccelerator version in the wget string and a fix for a path error).

    Reviewing one of my servers, I found the old error:
    [30-Sep-2006 04:04:34] PHP Warning: Unknown(): Unable to load dynamic library './eaccelerator.so' - ./eaccelerator.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory in Unknown on line 0​

    This was caused by the php.ini file not looking in the proper path for the eaccelerator.so file. I've also found that I had to update the library when I upgraded php on a server.
     
  5. jonMEGA

    jonMEGA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do these scripts work with suPHP enabled?
     
  6. jonMEGA

    jonMEGA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think that cPanel should make a installing a php cache program as an option in WHM.
     
  7. budlight

    budlight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've used APC with no problems whatsoever. So it looks like from this post ANY work fine if you're dedicated to setting it up. I know I tested APC on my localhost and installed it in one night and it worked fine never thought about it since and it's definitely cacheing the data(as I can see via their apc.php interface).
     
  8. S-Combs

    S-Combs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    You cannot determine that ANY work fine from this post. There have only been a couple types discussed and one of these has documentable proof via vbulletin.com and google that it does break that script (at least certain revisions did).

    Many other PHP scripts can and do have problems with caching systems including but not limited to, some types with encoded source such as; Zend, ioncube, source guardian, source cop, phplockit and codelock.

    There can also be problems with combining accelerators like Zend and Eaccelerator for instance so, Some who are hosting sites running these encoded scripts may have more troubles than others.
     
    #8 S-Combs, Jan 11, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2007
  9. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    is APC works with phpsuexec enabled ?
     
  10. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I use Zend and eAccelerator and have no problems.
     
  11. bornonline

    bornonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Zend/Suhosin and eaccelerator with no issues at all.
     
  12. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You should really take a seriosu look at xcache. Its working great on one of our servers and is easilly configurable.
     
  13. katmai

    katmai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    zend+eaccelerator rocking the spot.
     
  14. trhosting.net

    trhosting.net Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Turkey
    Some of the posts are saying the eaccelerator is not working with phpsuexec. I wanted to try it, and tried it. I installed eaccelerator and encrypted a file. Uploaded this file to the server. I created a php.ini file on the same directory which i uploaded the encrypted file. I wrote the eaccelerator required things.

    Then i the file is executed successfully. If i remove the php.ini file, then the file is not working.

    I think this means that eaccelerator is working with phpsuexec. Am i wrong?
    If i am right why on every post, they are saying it is not working.

    I am a bit confused.

    I installed eaccelerator 0.95 on 64bit Centos. PHP4.4.4, suexec enabled.
     
  15. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    We're using xcache on one of our dedicated server clients forum - Works very well and has sped up the forum: alfaowner.com
     
  16. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't know about the phpsuexec stuff, but eaccelerator encrypting is not working and not advised. It is a known issue and not currently supported (encrypting I mean) althoug eaccelerator itself is still in active development.
     
  17. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    does anyone have a good tutorial on howto install eAccelerator on cPanel + PHP 5.0.5 + Zend optimizer?
     
  18. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page