The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

recompile/reinstall PHP 4.2.3 without mbstrings

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by big, Oct 8, 2002.

  1. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    how to install latest version of apache without mbstrings? its casuing major problems with vbulletin and all other php softwares
    example:
    &?php

    echo '&pre&';
    print_r($_POST);
    echo '&/pre&';

    ?&
    &form method=&post&&
    &input type=&text& name=&array[]& size=&8& /&
    &input type=&submit& name=&submit& value=&test& /&
    &/form&
     
  2. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:8c277da81e][i:8c277da81e]Originally posted by big[/i:8c277da81e]

    how to install latest version of apache without mbstrings? its casuing major problems with vbulletin and all other php softwares
    example:
    &?php

    echo '&pre&';
    print_r($_POST);
    echo '&/pre&';

    ?&
    &form method=&post&&
    &input type=&text& name=&array[]& size=&8& /&
    &input type=&submit& name=&submit& value=&test& /&
    &/form&
    [/quote:8c277da81e]



    you have to run this in a root ssh session:

    /scripts/easyapache

    choose advanced mode

    and make sure these modules are selected

    * User bandwidth leech protection
    * Bytes logging Module
    * Frontpage Module
    * Raise HARD_SERVER_LIMIT
    * Rewrite Module
    * SSL Module
    * suEXEC Module

    also select
    PHP Modules --&

    and uncheck whatever you want (PHP modules) i.e. mbstring
     
  3. kerosin

    kerosin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Run buildapache.sea , choose advanced option and in PHP section unselect mb strings ;)


    Don't forget to have selected these modules on the first page of advanced setup:

    - ~user bandwidth leech protection
    - Bytes Logging Module
    - Frontpage Module
    - Raise HARD_SERVER_LIMIT
    - Rewrite Module
    - SSL Module
    - suEXEC Module
     
  4. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    it was unselected and still when i run phpinfo i see --enable-mbstrings there!
    maube httpd is not overwrriten ?! or some other options which is enabled selects that by default?
     
  5. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:41beb801ec][i:41beb801ec]Originally posted by big[/i:41beb801ec]

    it was unselected and still when i run phpinfo i see --enable-mbstrings there!
    maube httpd is not overwrriten ?! or some other options which is enabled selects that by default?

    [/quote:41beb801ec]
    in a root ssh session:

    php -m

    it shows compiled in modules
     
  6. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I wrote more details in another thread
    (click on the link to go to the thread) http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=5121
     
Loading...

Share This Page