Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

recompile/reinstall PHP 4.2.3 without mbstrings

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by big, Oct 8, 2002.

  1. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Earth
    how to install latest version of apache without mbstrings? its casuing major problems with vbulletin and all other php softwares
    example:
    &?php

    echo '&pre&';
    print_r($_POST);
    echo '&/pre&';

    ?&
    &form method=&post&&
    &input type=&text& name=&array[]& size=&8& /&
    &input type=&submit& name=&submit& value=&test& /&
    &/form&
     
  2. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:8c277da81e][i:8c277da81e]Originally posted by big[/i:8c277da81e]

    how to install latest version of apache without mbstrings? its casuing major problems with vbulletin and all other php softwares
    example:
    &?php

    echo '&pre&';
    print_r($_POST);
    echo '&/pre&';

    ?&
    &form method=&post&&
    &input type=&text& name=&array[]& size=&8& /&
    &input type=&submit& name=&submit& value=&test& /&
    &/form&
    [/quote:8c277da81e]



    you have to run this in a root ssh session:

    /scripts/easyapache

    choose advanced mode

    and make sure these modules are selected

    * User bandwidth leech protection
    * Bytes logging Module
    * Frontpage Module
    * Raise HARD_SERVER_LIMIT
    * Rewrite Module
    * SSL Module
    * suEXEC Module

    also select
    PHP Modules --&

    and uncheck whatever you want (PHP modules) i.e. mbstring
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kerosin

    kerosin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Run buildapache.sea , choose advanced option and in PHP section unselect mb strings ;)


    Don't forget to have selected these modules on the first page of advanced setup:

    - ~user bandwidth leech protection
    - Bytes Logging Module
    - Frontpage Module
    - Raise HARD_SERVER_LIMIT
    - Rewrite Module
    - SSL Module
    - suEXEC Module
     
  4. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Earth
    it was unselected and still when i run phpinfo i see --enable-mbstrings there!
    maube httpd is not overwrriten ?! or some other options which is enabled selects that by default?
     
  5. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:41beb801ec][i:41beb801ec]Originally posted by big[/i:41beb801ec]

    it was unselected and still when i run phpinfo i see --enable-mbstrings there!
    maube httpd is not overwrriten ?! or some other options which is enabled selects that by default?

    [/quote:41beb801ec]
    in a root ssh session:

    php -m

    it shows compiled in modules
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    I wrote more details in another thread
    (click on the link to go to the thread) http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=5121
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice