Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Recreate accounts from /home directory

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by benito, Jan 25, 2019.

  1. benito

    benito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Mar del Plata - Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello!

    It is possible to recreate cPanel accounts only from /home contents?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    178
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This would not be possible as the database files are stored in /var/lib/mysql
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    benito likes this.
  3. benito

    benito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Mar del Plata - Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You have all the reason. I do not know how I did not think about it. I had the idea of using external volumes for home directories and in case of disaster attach them to a new server. o_O
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    178
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You should use the cpanel backups and store those on the remote volume
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. benito

    benito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Mar del Plata - Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, im doing it for years. Just thinking on faster recovery measures.

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    178
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    When you consider the automated fashion you can restore the cpanel backups it really is the most time efficient method
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,124
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'd like to second what @GOT is saying, a cPanel backup contains everything you'd need to restore the account. If you did this manually you'd need to get data from several different locations and restore it manually to those places.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice