Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Recreate Accounts from Restored HOME Dir

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jugo, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. jugo

    jugo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello everyone.

    I have encountered a nifty little problem.

    We lost our server due to an undiscovered "shellbot".

    We have rebuilt the server with a new hard drive. We have access to the old drives and can mount them and access the files.

    Is there a way to recover the accounts from a copied HOME directory.

    My idea was to copy over /var/named /home and /var/cpanel/users

    what else would help me get the accounts back. Any help would be appreciated.


    UPDATE: This is what we got from someone:

    can someone help me with this....any insight.....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 jugo, Oct 2, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2006
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Does that mean you don't have backup? Is /etc directory there?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lowlight

    lowlight Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi, i have the same issue here, i have a early msql back up which uploads ok but i only have a recent home dir backup, i have 200 posts on the home dir but i cannot upload it. any recomendations please..

    thanks
     
  4. jugo

    jugo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156

    I have access to the old drive.

    So I can get anything from /etc /var or home that we would need.

    Also, is there a way to restore MySQL DBs from MYI files??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    /dev/null
    you will need

    /etc/passwd
    /etc/group
    /etc/localdomains
    /etc/remotedomains

    at the very least
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Why not copying all of the DB from the old to the new HD.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice