The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recurring View Bandwidth Problems?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Striker, Aug 5, 2003.

  1. Striker

    Striker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just bought a dedicated server with CPanel about a month ago and was pretty happy; got everything setup just fine and started selling vhosting.

    I just noticed today that all my view bandwidth page has stopped updating since August 1st. I came to the CPanel forums and did a quick search and found about 6 or 8 threads all with the same problem although none were too recent. But I also noticed that absolutely no one responded to them.

    I'd like to know what exactly updates the bandwidth counters, is it a cron job? Is it supposed to be done with other cpanel cron jobs? Does cpanel do it on its own? maybe the view bandwidth page is recalculated when it's loaded?

    Bandmin shows lots of usage, but doesnt show me any kind of breakdown that I can use to charge customers that exceed their bandwidth restrictions.

    I have checked to make sure everything is logging correctly, and bandwidth logs do exist for every domain that I have. Are the logs supposed to be rotated or something? I've looked for documentation about this, but cant find anything.

    If this is normal behavior, and the page only updates every week or so, I would still like to know a way to make it update more frequently, or find a better solution. I would prefer at least daily bandwidth usage reports, but I was pretty sure before that the view bandwidth page updated fairly frequently.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try:
    /scripts/fixquotas

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Striker

    Striker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ahh, much better...thanks

    What impact do the quotas have on tracking bandwidth usage? Or does the fixquotas script fix bandwith as well?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. netwrkr

    netwrkr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am having the same problem.

    /scripts/fixquotas appears to fix problems associated with the disk quotas not bandwidth.


    #!/usr/bin/perl

    if (! -e "/vsrvmgrq") {
    system("/sbin/quotaoff -a 2>/dev/null");
    system("cp -f /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.quotas");
    }

    open(FTQ,"/etc/fstab.quotas");
    while(<FTQ>) {
    $line = $_;
    /^(\S+)/;
    $dsk = $1;
    $dsk =~ s/^LABEL=//g;
    if ($line =~ /ext2/ || $line =~ /ext3/) {
    if (/defaults/) {
    if ($line =~ /\S+\s*(\S+)/) {
    $mntpoint = $1;
    unlink("$mntpoint/quota.user");
    unlink("$mntpoint/aquota.user");
    }
    }
    }
    }
    close(FTQ);


    system("/scripts/initquotas");

    system("/scripts/resetquotas");


    if (! -e "/vsrvmgrq") {
    system("/sbin/quotaon -a 2>/dev/null");


    How could that of possible corrected the bandwidth page not updating?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try this . . .

    /scripts/cleanbw

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page