The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Redhat 7.1 primary IDE cable select problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MichaelShanks, Nov 27, 2001.

  1. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok this is a general warning really,

    Recently I\'ve been having serious problems with Cpanel installs on a server (layer1 update, generally the installs work fine (having done over 100)

    I think there may be a problem with RedHat 7.1 when you install Cplyr1 with the primary HDD set to cable select, (if you install with CD-ROm plugged in on cable select then glibc dies and without but on calbe select then openSSL dies)

    has anyone else experienced this? I will update more when I have some more information on the matter.



    [Edited on 11/27/01 by MichaelShanks]
     
  2. Karl

    Karl Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It\'s a general Linux kernel issue with Cable select as far as I know, look on The Reg for the recent stuff on RH7.2 and SuSE you\'ll see that they mention that linux doesn\'t particularly like cable select when doing installs.
     
  3. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes thats what put me on the trail,


    Basically though Redhat will install fine but you may get errors with Cpanel.

    Its a rare occurance but if you have problems with a Cpanel layer1 update the first thing to do is to check tht you have your jumpers on HDDs set correct, NO cable select, second remove ATA66 cables, those cables make me angry, they cause so many problems :eek:(

    Mike
     
  4. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Believe it or not I had this problem on a Mandrake box I just built for dev.
     
  5. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    did you manage to solve it with the above methods? having a dodgy ata cable in Windows hardly makes a difference (until you patch an NT kernel) but in linux when compiling a problem like that brings a box to its knees (and the sysadmin trying to figure it out)
     
Loading...

Share This Page