The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RedHat 7.3

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shaun, May 7, 2002.

  1. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    Just found out today that redhat 7.3 i guess is out/comming out. I assume darkorb is going to support this OS? i'm not even sure if it's worth using it. 7.2 seams good enough right now... blah.
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I didn't see *anything* that made it better than RH 7.2, but then again I haven't been in one of the machines yet. Hopefully we proceed with caution .... remember the RH superstars are notorious for pushing things out without thoroughly testing *everything*
    (but who isn't?)
    :p

    Remember the RH 7.0 hellspawned compilers?

    Fun.
     
  3. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    rh 7.3 seems to actually be a winner .... of course its going to prove me wrong later. However its been the easiest redhat to port cpanel to in a long time.

    (7.3 installer now on layer1)
     
  4. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    wow nice work nick... i'll give it a test out tomarrow.
     
  5. F1

    F1 Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    everything new comes with some pros and cons , but as we know in this field we just can't predict anything . Only hope for the best.
    ;)
     
  6. F1

    F1 Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi ,
    I forget one thing to ask.can anybody give me the download location for red hat 7.3 ?

    thanks
     
  7. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:be626118f3][i:be626118f3]Originally posted by F1[/i:be626118f3]

    Hi ,
    I forget one thing to ask.can anybody give me the download location for red hat 7.3 ?

    thanks[/quote:be626118f3]

    diff.cpanel.net/rh7.3/
     
  8. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is it safe to install 7.3 over 7.1? Will it change anything apart from the OS itself? Can you guarantee that it will work without trouble once installed? ....... ;-)
     
  9. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:d2c1d39ecd][i:d2c1d39ecd]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:d2c1d39ecd]

    Is it safe to install 7.3 over 7.1? Will it change anything apart from the OS itself? Can you guarantee that it will work without trouble once installed? ....... ;-)[/quote:d2c1d39ecd]


    In general it should.. I've already upgraded a few 7.x systems with little or no problems. The worst I've had to do is just run upcp after the upgrade to clean up everything. Upgrades 6.x might not be as easy, but I really don't forsee much of a problem there.
     
  10. deltawolf1

    deltawolf1 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    7.3 is working great for me so far
     
  11. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    not working.

    Hi, I just installed Redhat 7.3 from the ISO's found at http://diff.cpanel.net/rh7.3/

    The server was running 7.2, and now, since I clean installed 7.3, even though durring setup, I have it install KDE and GNOME, it wont load them when i use startx at the shell. It says

    (EE) No devices detected.
    Fatal Error:
    no screens found

    i tried 'switchdesk gnome' then startx.. still no luck.

    did the iso's you upload not have a gui in them or something?

    Can anyone help?
    Thanks.
     
  12. F1

    F1 Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks bdraco
    :)
     
  13. pfmartin

    pfmartin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Problems ??

    I installed RH 7.3 and cpanel. The WHM works fine. But when I go to view the control panel for an account I get:

    Not Found

    The server was not able to find the document (./frontend/default/index.html) you requested
    Please check the url and try again. You might also want to report
    this error to your webhost.


    Any idea why this is? I checked and the files ARE there and the perms look exactly as they do on my other server.
     
  14. pfmartin

    pfmartin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Apache failing too!

    I found another issue too that is bad. Apache keeps failing with the following error log entries:

    [Mon May 13 08:40:01 2002] [error] mod_ssl: Cannot open SSLSessionCache DBM fil
    che' for status retrival (System error follows)
    [Mon May 13 08:40:01 2002] [error] System: No such file or directory (errno: 2)
    [Mon May 13 08:51:00 2002] [warn] pid file /usr/local/apache/logs/httpd.pid ove
    revious Apache run?
    [Mon May 13 08:51:01 2002] [crit] (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could
    [Mon May 13 08:51:01 2002] [notice] Apache/1.3.23 (Unix) mod_gzip/1.3.19.1a mod
    .2.0 mod_log_bytes/0.3 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510 mod_ssl/2.8.7 OpenSSL/0.9.6b config
     
  15. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    [quote:0ad2b2f26c][i:0ad2b2f26c]Originally posted by pfmartin[/i:0ad2b2f26c]
    I found another issue too that is bad. Apache keeps failing with the following error log entries:
    [Mon May 13 08:40:01 2002] [error] mod_ssl: Cannot open SSLSessionCache DBM fil
    che' for status retrival (System error follows)
    [Mon May 13 08:40:01 2002] [error] System: No such file or directory (errno: 2)
    [Mon May 13 08:51:00 2002] [warn] pid file /usr/local/apache/logs/httpd.pid ove
    revious Apache run?
    [Mon May 13 08:51:01 2002] [crit] (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could
    [Mon May 13 08:51:01 2002] [notice] Apache/1.3.23 (Unix) mod_gzip/1.3.19.1a mod
    .2.0 mod_log_bytes/0.3 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510 mod_ssl/2.8.7 OpenSSL/0.9.6b config
    [/quote:0ad2b2f26c]
    Are you starting apache with startssl?

    Edit: never mind, it happens to me too, I thought it was that, but it isn't...
     
  16. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    Apache Failures in 7.3

    The random apache files are caused by a bug in the psmisc package. The signal names in the killall binary in incorrect. Updating cPanel will install a new psmisc package that corrects the problem. The RedHat bugzilla id is here: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=64683

    Notes: This is not a bug in RedHat or cPanel, the package psmisc (psmisc.sourceforge.net) contains the incorrect signals in the current release version (20.2 as of this post). The psmisc author has been informed of the problem.

    This problem should be non-existant after the next cpanel update or after running /scripts/sysup. This problem will also be fixed at install time on all new 7.3 installs. Don't let this information discourge you from using 7.3 as it has shown to be more stable all around.
     
  17. pfmartin

    pfmartin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    What about the control panel failing to load? Any news on that? This is still not working. Also, the Apache web server keeps failing anyways... even after the system update.
     
  18. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:e71a52632c][i:e71a52632c]Originally posted by pfmartin[/i:e71a52632c]

    What about the control panel failing to load? Any news on that? This is still not working. Also, the Apache web server keeps failing anyways... even after the system update.[/quote:e71a52632c]

    I'll happily look at the server if you email me the root/ip (nick@cpanel.net)
     
  19. pfmartin

    pfmartin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks for the offer Nick! Actually, I got apache to run but not cpanel.

    Here is what I did. I reinstalled cpanel on it. Now the apache server is not failing. That was easy (maybe harder than usual, but easy to fix).

    My cpanel themes do not load though. Thing is that the way I do themes is to upload them to a user's directory (so it's easier to FTP) and then go to:

    /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend and sym link to the admin's directory path to my theme.

    ln -s /home/adminuser/mytheme mytheme

    This works on all our servers except the RH 7.3 one. For some reason it doesn't like the fact that the theme is a sym link. I checked the perms and everything is cool. Exactly like other servers.

    What should I look for?
     
  20. tic67

    tic67 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Upgrade to 7.3

    Hi,

    I've got a plain install of 7.2. Cpanle not installed yet.

    Are there any Howtos' on upgrading to 7.3?.

    Is there an RPM of 7.3 that could be run, or does it have to be done another way (redhat network?.).

    Any advice gratefully received.

    Thanks,

    John
     
Loading...

Share This Page