The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RedHat 9 -> Fedora Core

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bmcclure, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. bmcclure

    bmcclure Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Racine, WI
    My dedicated server people, obviously since they are a business, would charge me to upgrade from RedHat 9 to Fedora Core 3. I can't think of any good reason to spend extra money on upgrading to it since RedHat 9 has worked fien so far. It would be nice though, to have Fedora Core 3 instead.

    I've heard you can upgrade using apt-get or yum, however I don't know what effect it will have on CPanel. Will I have to reinstall Cpanel? If so, I probably cannot go through with the upgrade since you have to be in front of the machine to install Cpanel (but correct me if I'm wrong).

    If anyone else has had experience with this, I'd really appreciate your comments. Thanks!
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would strongly recommend that you go to CentOS (5 year lifecycle based on RHE3) instead of Fedora, otherwise you're going to have to go through the pain of upgrading again in 6 months time (the lifecycle of Fedora builds). There are many guides for doing a yum upgrade from RH9 to CentOS out there.
     
  3. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    i'd have to agree with chirpy on this one, i did a migration from rh9 -> centos 3.4 a few hours ago. worked great.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
  4. bmcclure

    bmcclure Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Racine, WI
    Thanks guys!

    Upgraded successfully to CentOS 3.4 via yum. I'm updating Cpanel now, and hoping it will update bind because cind won't load so far. At least the upgrade worked though!

    Ben McClure
     
  5. projectandrew

    projectandrew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If anyone is upgrading from CentOS-3.3 to 3.4, the following was recently posted (last week I think):

     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Did that myself a few days ago (3.3 to 3.4) with no problems at all :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page