The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

redhat 9 taking a hour and a half to install?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, Apr 26, 2004.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am setting up two new servers tonight and both are taking over a hour and a half to set up cpanel.

    Anyone know why it would do this. I stopped it once and started it over only to have to have it take this long again.
     
  2. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Check the output from the installer - precisely which part is taking so long.
     
  3. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the tip, it finally went through..

    I think it was the kernal update that was repeating, it was hard to tell even when watching the process.

    Thanks again.. it's my birthday :D
     
  4. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Hmm, cpanel should never touch your kernel.
     
  5. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's what I thought too, but the download url was kernal.redhat.com or something like that. Strange stuff but it worked after a long time of doing something...
    I am setting up two new servers tommaorw and see if it does the same and copy the log file part that said kernal something if it pops up again..
     
Loading...

Share This Page