Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

redirecting a domain to a subfolder

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 1link4it, Mar 15, 2004.

  1. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    Help,

    How do I redirect a domain to a subfolder?

    i have only one domain and installed in a folder /mambo
    The CMS Mambo.

    How do I redirect this to my domain name ?


    Thanks
     
  2. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,

    Please include the following entry in the .htaccess file:

    redirect permanent domain.com/mambo/ yourdomain.com

    Regards,

    Bright:)
     
  3. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest


    Thanks. and where can i find that .htaccess file please ?
     
  4. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,


    You can find the .htacces file in the following path:

    /home/user/public_html/.htaccess

    Regards,

    Bright:)
     
  5. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    thank you :)
     
  6. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    oh dear, there is nothing :confused:

    Do you have an example >? is it called .htaccess and what should be the file rights rwxxx?

    Thank you
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    If you don't have a .htaccess file, you can just create one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Also, have you tried the "Manage Redirects" in cpanel?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    Yes, but i had no result or i did that also wrong...i feel a bit hopeless now, and i don't know where it is wrong...

    The plan was to have 2 folders, one for the web site and one for the test web site....

    so i installed in /mambo the Web Site.

    Then went to manage redirect and tried several settings.

    like http://domain.com/mambo/ --> http://domain.com

    But if you know it, then yes please..i thought that the redirects where ment for these things :confused:
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Try this:

    In your redirect setup page in cpanel, put

    mambo/

    in the first box, and put

    domain.com

    in the second box, without http://.

    Should work.

    I just set a similar one up. Go to http://subdomainplaza.net/test/ to see what I mean. Just ignore the parked page you see. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest


    Yes, that works fine...great thank you for all your help, i am trying it right now :)
     
  12. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    NO not working, the redirect is giving this info

    /mambo/ http://domain.com (permanent)


    i have exact as you told me...
     
    #12 1link4it, Mar 16, 2004
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2004
  13. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

     
    #13 1link4it, Mar 16, 2004
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2004
  14. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

     
    #14 1link4it, Mar 16, 2004
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2004
  15. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    Yes will contact them , i have so many more problems, maybe i will cancel my subsription, its problems all the time, the are playing around with their cPanel theme and i want the x2. but no fantastico in it, and it their cpanel is lots still working even when i have disabled it, but the bigest things is their name is overal in it and i can't change it, i want a clean cpanel for my customers.... and my WHM is very empty if i compare it with others:mad:

    Thanks anyway for your help...
    Really fine.

    Looks good your sites ;)
     
  17. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    When i place a .htaccess file in the folder, it is deleted automaticall, is this a setting from my hosting provider ?
    Is that also the explanation why the redirect is not working ?

    Thanks
     
    #17 1link4it, Mar 17, 2004
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 17, 2004
  18. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you're placing via ftp, some ftp clients hide any files starting with a '.' by default. You might have to poke around in view menus or preferences if this is the case.
     
  19. 1link4it

    1link4it Guest

    Thanks it was indeed a hidden file...learning a load in this way, but its not working yet...this is my content of the .htaccess file...what should the file permissions be ? 644

    redirect permanent http://domain.com/mambo/ http://domain.com

    Not the www included.

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice