The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Redirecting Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lancepender, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I’ve been looking over the forum for some answers on my redirecting issues… and people are referring to a .htaccess file. I guess it should be located in public_html/.htaccess or maybe in public_html/shop/.htaccess… Either way.. there is no file. Could this be the issue with my redirecting?


    The closest thing of any sort that I could find for a .htaccess was in public_html/shop/extras/htaccess_for_page_not_found_redirects.htaccess


    The content of this file is as follows:
    # replace /yourstorefolder/ with the name of the folder your store is located in, if any.
    # be sure to add any extra paths required to locate the index.php
    # then relocate this file to the root of your store's folders, and rename it as .htaccess

    [FONT=&quot]ErrorDocument 404 /yourstorefolder/index.php?main_page=page_not_found

    I'm just trying to get our site to work under our ssl on all pages or even the home, login, and checkout pages.

    Thank for any help in advance!
    [/FONT]
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    When you add a redirect in cPanel the file is created. Or you can create the file yourself.

    If you can't see this file via cPanel File Manager it may be hidden. dot files are hidden by default by the system. On the bottom of the main page of cPanel is a link to reset all interface settings. If you click that the page refreshes. Next, click the File Manager icon. On the first popup you see, there are some options. One of those options you want to check the box for is to "show hidden dot files" Check that and save.

    Now get into the File Manager and if there is a .htaccess file in public_html you'll see it. If you create one you'll see it.
     
  3. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    yes... It is there!! Thank you!!

    This is in the file...
    RewriteEngine on

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^.*$
    RewriteRule ^/?$ "https\:\/\/www\.MYSITE\.com\/shop" [R=301,L]

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^.*$
    RewriteRule ^shop$ "https\:\/\/www\.MYSITE\.com\/shop\/" [R=301,L]


    Now... I did finally get the redirects to work... I have the godaddy EV ssl seal.. The one with the green address screen.. The green address bar pops on then goes away.. But it still says https:.. I called go daddy and they said the ssl and the site is still secured. and that part is good to go. But they said I have to re-write the code to use the https instead of http. I have no clue how to do this... or even where to find it..

    Any help would greatly appreciated! Thank you...
     
    #3 lancepender, Nov 12, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You'll have to review the code in your actual pages to see if any have http hard-coded rather than https in them. If they do, then use relative links to the page rather than absolute ones to avoid hard-coding http for any urls. If you aren't familiar with editing your pages, you might want to speak to whoever coded the site for you, or if this is a CMS of some sort, post on their forum about the issue.
     
  5. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you for the reply... Ya, I have no clue what folder or what im even looking for..
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have a hosting provider or someone who helped code your pages? You will need to contact them as scripting on websites is outside the scope of our support, since it is unrelated to the control panel itself.
     
  7. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have asked my web designer and he said that there isn't anything he can do.. Everything with the site (as far as hard coding) is right in front of me on cpanel. True?
     
  8. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    CMS? Whats that stand for?

    Thanks for the all the help!
     
  9. nightman

    nightman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    CMS = ContentMangementSystem something like wordpress, joomla etc etc.
     
  10. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank You..
     
  11. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well and update.... We figured out what was wrong. There was a banner/icon on the site in a sidebox that was coded in http. Witch didnt let the ssl go secure. I took the banner out and boom.. there was the green https secure address bar...

    Everything was working great.. Then the host bandwidth was maxed out for the month. I was at 4991.5 of 5000 MB. So I'm thinking it shut it down or something.. I got a hold of the host and they bumped my bandwidth to 10000MB.. But its still showing Access Denied when you look up the page..

    Any ideas?
     
    #11 lancepender, Nov 19, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2011
  12. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Any?? I'm getting pretty pissed off that I finally get this thing to work the way I want it to and something else goes wrong..
     
  13. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Again, this is something your hosting provider should be assisting in getting done. If they updated the bandwidth, it doesn't reset until the next day unless they force it to reset and only your hosting provider can get this working for you.

    If your website designer and hosting provider aren't assisting properly, you may want to pursue avenues with more fast to respond providers.
     
  14. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Ok, so it should reset automatically? These things are on a 24hr reset? What a PIMA!
     
  15. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Normally, the bandwidth doesn't reset until the next day unless they force the update. I really suggest starting to begin forming a relationship with your hosting provider by opening tickets or using their support forum for these questions. They can get this stuff sorted for you.

    Good luck!
     
  16. lancepender

    lancepender Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spring Hill, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank You!!
     
  17. alexucem

    alexucem Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    yes i have similiar question,, why. com. org and other domain types is not as easy as. co.cc in setting redirect?
    im begineer for DNS and other setup redirecting menu :((
     
Loading...

Share This Page