The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Redirection and not-so-helpful webhost

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tokyoprogressiv, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. tokyoprogressiv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello

    I am a total novice but my hosting provider has offered limited support
    and my domain host's redirection causes problems, so I am asking here
    in the hopes that someone will be able to help me troubleshoot.

    THE MAIN ISSUES
    I have been having trouble accomplishing what should be a simple thing.

    I have a hosted account
    http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk

    The hosting provider uses CPANEL.


    I have also pointed (via my domain host)
    tokyoprogressive.info
    to the same (using the hosting provider's dns).

    This is because the domain host's own redirection leaves
    tokyoprogressive.info in the browser address.

    I actually want tokyoprogressive.info/filename
    or tokyoprogressive.info/directory.filename to appear.

    But after pointing, I now get http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk


    (I also have a subdomain
    http://gale.tokyoprogressive.org.uk
    which corresponds to
    http://tokyoprogressive.orguk/gale).

    I want to point gale-sig.org to it in a simnilar way.


    I cannot yet change this latter one
    since it may interrupt service for the users.

    But what I want to have is:

    DESIRED RESULT
    http://tokyoprogressive.info go to
    http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/filenames....

    and
    http://gale-sig.org go to
    http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/gale/filenames.
    In other words, the user sees the domain name they typed, plus the dirtectory and filename,
    not the new domain name.

    ACTIONS TRIED

    I have set up the appropriate PARKED DOMAINS and
    SUB DOMAINS on the web host.

    But then they tell me what I need to do in CPANEL is:


    >
    > Unfortunately this is scripting support which is outside of the
    > scope of support we offer. However, you can model the rewrite after
    > the following lines that are already in your .htaccess file:
    > RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^tokyoprogressive.info$ [OR]
    > RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.tokyoprogressive.info$
    > RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk" [R=301,L]

    They gave me some references on the web, but they are way above my head. And all they do is keep telling me it is outside the scope of their support
    or repeat the same thing, even after I tell them I don't understand.

    SUCH AS:

    >You want to edit, not create, the current one, by adding new lines at the bottom
    > (or wherever in the file really). There is a rewrite already there that, with the links
    >I provided you, should be enough to make your own. Open the file, and read the links I've provided,
    >and I think things will start to become a bit more clear.


    I told them I do not see any specific instructions as to what to do but
    guessed maybe (for gale-sig.org):

    that I probably have to change
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk" [R=301,L]
    to something else so that when the person arrives at the new domain they see the file names as well when they click on links.

    Something like

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^gale-sig.org$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^gale-sig.org$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http://tokyoprogressive.org.ukgale" [R=301,L]

    But I get the runaround.

    I am not even sure what I need to do is this file.
    A second support person just repeats:

    >You should be able to set this up using the Cpanel rewrites rules option.
    But they won't explain it.

    This is what is in the file now

    RewriteEngine on
    # -FrontPage-
    IndexIgnore .htaccess */.??* *~ *# */HEADER* */README* */_vti*
    <Limit GET POST>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    allow from all
    </Limit>
    <Limit PUT DELETE>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    </Limit>
    AuthName www.tokyoprogressive.org.uk
    AuthUserFile /home/tokyo/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.pwd
    AuthGroupFile /home/tokyo/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.grp

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^tokyoprogressive.info$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.tokyoprogressive.info$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http\:\/\/tokyoprogressive\.org\.uk" [R=301,L]




    Can anyone help me make it (in this script or elsewhere???)

    so that the redirection and what the user sees are like this:


    DESIRED RESULT
    http://tokyoprogressive.info go to
    http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/filenames....

    and
    http://gale-sig.org go to
    http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/gale/filenames.



    Thanks a lot in advance.


    Sorry if this is longwinded.

    paul
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The Redirection Tools in cPanel should be able to handle this for you perfectly I would think. It's a shame your host doesn't seem to know how to use it.

    I think you might want to start over. What I mean is, when you get to the Redirects area, anything you find already created, remove from there.
    Start fresh.

    This will remove the entries added to the .htaccess file.

    You've got the extra domains already pointed to the server (at your domain name registrar) that tokyoprogressive.org.uk is hosted on, now you need to catch them at your account. Since you explain you want them to point to a location on the tokyoprogressive.org.uk account using it's domain name, you want to "Park" the domains first.

    Find the Parked Domains section of your cPanel, and add the two new domains here. (without the http://)

    If all goes well, these two domains now resolve to your main account tokyoprogressive.org.uk

    This should solve part 1 of what your "Desired Result"

    Next, go to Redirects Area in your cPanel, find the domain gale-sig.org listed on the drop down list. Select it, And then add the URL you want it to point to.

    So, select gale-sig.org from the drop down, set the "redirects to-->"
    tokyoprogressive.org.uk/gale/

    (gale directory will need to be created first)

    Leave the "Redirect with or without www." set as it is.

    Now if a user visits gale-sig.org it "Redirects" them to tokyoprogressive.org.uk/gale/

    As you want.

    I think that should do it.
     
  3. tokyoprogressiv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Infopro

    They actually finally went and partially set it up for me. Slightly differently but gale-sig.org works.

    SETUP
    SUB DOMAIN gale.tokyoprogressive.org.uk
    DOCUMENT ROOT public_html/gale
    REDIRECTS
    http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/gale/

    AND

    SUBDOMAIN gale-sig .tokyoprogressive.org.uk
    DOCUMENT ROOT public_html/gale
    NOT REDIRECTED

    WITH

    ADD-ON DOMAINS
    gale-sig.org
    DOCMENT ROOT
    public_html/gale
    NOT REDIRECTED


    AND

    REDIRECTS
    gale.tokyoprogressive .org.uk
    TO
    http://tokyoprogressi ve.org.uk/gale/


    But they did not do anything for tokyoprogressive.info.

    What I want is

    tokyoprogressive.info/finalename-example.html

    Using parked domains sems to give me
    tokyoprogressive.org.uk/filename-example.html

    Not sure how to get it to work like the subdomain redirection (not showing tokyoprogressive.org/uk)

    thanks!


    paul



    Thanks.
     
    #3 tokyoprogressiv, Feb 4, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2009
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Parked domains point to the actual account domain. Addon domains point to a directory on the account. You'll need to decide how you want it to be setup and Redirected. The instructions posted above should help there.
     
  5. tokyoprogressiv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes that seemed to work

    Thank you.

    I used ADD ON DOMAINS and where it said subdomain I just entered the publlic html and now it works, but not for subseuent pages. If you see the link to page 2, which is actually written index2.html, it actually goes to http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/index2.html.

    So it behaves differently than gale-sig.org (directory /gale/), in which the tld is always followed by the file name).

    Then I thouht I needed to not only do an addon, but also make it a redirect, but this has no effect. So I am at a loss.


    Almost there I feel, but not quite.
     
    #5 tokyoprogressiv, Feb 5, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  6. tokyoprogressiv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    add on and parked: more confusion from support

    Hi again. Meanwhile, while waiting I got advice from SUPPORT telling me sort of the oppsite. That I DO want parked.(???) But whether I do it as add-on, parked, or redirect, I get the same result.

    Here is what they said and here is what I wrote--->

    FROM SUPPORT
    >Yes, what you want is not a redirect. It is a parked domain. That is how >parked domains work.

    >"Redirects" send the browser from one address to another. That is what >you DON'T want. Since you want the .info address to stay in the address bar.

    >Parked domains means it shows exactly the same file as the main domain >for the same filename, and it doesn't change the URL in the address bar.


    MY ANSWER
    >Thank you. I understand from below that PARKED DOMAINS will work.
    >In fact, it does. But only when reaching the first page. So if I click the link
    >GO TO PAGE TO (linking to index2.html), in fact the address bar shows:
    >http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/index2.html. I lose the >tokyoprogressive.info.

    >(I had the exact same result when using an ADDED-ON domain).

    >So either something is not going right OR poriting to main directory works >differently, and somehow this is why SUPPORT told me to use the htaccss >file?

    >If the latter, I will get help on that as suggested. But if it SHOULD be >working with the parked domain, I wonder why it is not.
    >(By the way, this works perfectly now with the subdomain and >gale-sig.org, which makes me wonder why tokyoprogressive.info is behaving >differently.)

    >best regards

    >Paul
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is getting more confusing than it needs to be with all the explaining, IMHO. ;) When you create an add-on domain, say domain.com, it creates a directory named domain in your public_html of the main domain. So, if you created an add-on called gale-sig.org you should see a directory named gale-sig in your public_html directory.

    Your host should be helping with this, and it sounds like he's trying. I'd suggest getting one working, and then sort out the other by comparing your settings that you have made that works.

    You might check your error logs from your cPanel to see if you're getting any error messages that could be helpful.

    I think you've got the details of what you need to do, but not doing it absolutely right, yet.


    You'll get it, good luck. :)
     
  8. tokyoprogressiv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    solved

    I found the error.

    I had this line in index.html at the top:
    --><base href="http://tokyoprogressive.org.uk/">



    That was overriding the .info parked domain address.
    I removed it and it seems to be working now.


    Thank for all your help.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Great to hear. Sometimes it just takes staring at the problem for a bit to figure it out. ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page