The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Redirection subdomain to domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vince71, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. vince71

    vince71 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  2. ctbhost

    ctbhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. vince71

    vince71 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, but in my account, I can't add parked domain. Alternative solution?
     
  4. kaosent

    kaosent Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Your best bet would be to talk to your host, upgrade plans, or change hosts. In order to set up the subdomain as you wish, you need the appropriate dns entries and apache config changes, and to do that.... you log into cPanel and add a parked domain. If you are allowed subdomains, you could try adding the subdomain and then point it to a symlink that links to the appropriate directory (which may or may not work depending on your host).
     
  5. vince71

    vince71 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the tip, simple but efficient:
    1. I create subdomain "alfa" with Cpanel
    2. I remove directory "alfa"
    3. I create symlink that point to the directory public_html
    ...and my problem is resolved.
    Thanks kaosent.
     
Loading...

Share This Page