The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Release and a test version of my website.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Arbu, Jun 26, 2017.

1. Arbu

Arbu Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm fairly new to using cPanel. But I want to have two versions of my website with my hosting company. The first, in a subdomain which I use for testing the code. The second directly under my domain. I'm considering obfuscating the code in the main version, under my domain.

The subdomain is working. So I've copied all the files in that to sit directly under the domain. This includes an index.php file. But when I navigate to my domain in a browser I get "Index of" and a list of the subdomains. Is there something else I have to do?

Secondly I'd like to password protect the subdomain. I I've set this up through cPanel but it seems to have no effect. How exactly is it supposed to show up?

Thanks.

2. Arbu

Arbu Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner