The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Release of Free Software - CpanelXpress

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ibmbhasi, Nov 27, 2003.

  1. ibmbhasi

    ibmbhasi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    We are happy to announce our second product - CpanelXpress
    which is a free software, It's a small utility to help you keep track
    of your CPanel accounts. Once configured, you can open any CPanel
    login at a single click without having the need to re-enter the
    username and password.

    Whether you are a CPanel Hosting Provider having hundreds of
    clients or a Reseller having moderate number of users,
    this utility helps you to organize your user accounts at one place.
    This application comes handy even for individuals having multiple
    CPanel accounts.

    Download your copy now - http://www.cpanelplus.net

    /IbmBhasi
     
  2. ZeroFill

    ZeroFill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    anyone else having trouble using the software? i still get the popup asking to login. also, in the login box, it shows the domain than login name.

    ie6, latest patches
     
    #2 ZeroFill, Nov 27, 2003
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2003
  3. ibmbhasi

    ibmbhasi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anybody else with the problem!

    Actually we have developed this application with the latest IE!

    anyway .. I got quite a few mails saying that the application is
    working well! :) ,

    and ZeroFill, I think it wud help other users if we discuss these topics at our forum of cpanelplus.net, I'm quite qorries that the forums there are quite empty :-(

    /Ibmbhasi
     
  4. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It seems a great idea , thank you , going to test.
    Hope it's safe.
     
  5. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    sorry , but is it a windows app (probably yes since it requires MSVBVM 6) ?. If yes , you should release also the source code... otherwise I don't like a Windows program which sniff my accounts and server information...
    I was thinking it was a php script .. :rolleyes:
     
  6. ibmbhasi

    ibmbhasi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dear Radio_Head,

    Our Application is not a Spyware ... It does not communicated with any of our servers/scripts in anyway. On the other hand as you said , I donot think giving the sourcecode of the application will prove that our application is safe .. it is also possible that one can give a sligtly different source-code
    than that of the binary being kept for download.

    Anyway .. if u still have doubts you can cross check BY running a packet sniffer on your local machine.
    That would solve any doubts you might have.

    /Ibmbhasi
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    CPanelPlus.net - The ultimate resource for cpanel addons
     
  7. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    sourcecode with instructions to compile plus md5 checks could be a solution .You could place your freeware apps on sourceforge for example.
    I found and tested windows apps which are able to send packets without alerting firewall or packet sniffers .
    Nothing against you , you probably did a nice and useful work, and your idea to release this freeware is probably only to advertise your other products or any other idea. But I stay far away from this kind of freeware apps. However it's just my idea and way of thinking. Again , nice work , but simply I don't like the "freeware" idea.

    Bye
     
  8. ZeroFill

    ZeroFill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Anybody else with the problem!

    Maybe you should add another category for CpanelXpress?

    anyways, i found the problem. after getting access denied, i found that cpanelxpress passes our user/pass via http://username:password@domain.com:2082

    a piece of my password had a special char it didn't like. i guess i'll be sticking to RoboForm since, afaik, it fills in the popup box for us than passing it via the url.

    Also, for the time i've been using it, the prog didn't try to access any other ip than my domain (using NIS2k3)
     
    #8 ZeroFill, Nov 28, 2003
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2003
  9. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelXpress still available?

    I had a customer that loved cPanelXpress, but he lost it due to a PC problem. He can't download it again because now the domain name of the software author is dead. Anyone still have a copy to share? (it was free software, so I think it would be OK).

    - Scott
     
Loading...

Share This Page