The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reloading from a new backup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by bsich, Mar 22, 2014.

  1. bsich

    bsich Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Today I had the need to recover from a new backup.

    The recovery was a little different than expected. I had to queue the backup but did not seem to have the same options for reloading the databases as in the legacy. My database came back damaged. Fortunately I was recovering my test system so I was able to go back to a legacy backup which worked fine.

    The legacy ran directly from the screen so it was able to give continuous status. With the new backup all you see is a spinning icon with no indication of progress or successful function.
     
  2. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please review the /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log file for errors.
     
  3. bsich

    bsich Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had to go to the backup again today. Recovering from a massive failure where you need to go to the backup is very significant. On the legacy recovery you were able to watch the recovery as it progressed and see the errors. With the new recovery all you see is the spinner and it eventually says complete. If something happens there is no indication.

    After the recovery my system came up. I checked it and it seemed fine. I expected to back level the databases. During the day people reported what they did yesterday was still there. I thought the data would be lost when it was overwritten with the recovery.

    As you suggested I looked at the log. I found 40 Meg of information going back to December, but was unable to find the actual recovery. Can we get the old recovery report back.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you elaborate more on the most recent issue you have experienced, or do you mean the problem you have dates back to the restore you completed in the past?

    Thank you.
     
  5. bsich

    bsich Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    opened ticket 4965189 with the error log from a recovery. Shows a lot failures but no successes except the success message at the end. I don't have a warm feeling about the success of the recovery.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, it seems like the database might have been corrupt/exploited at the time it was backed up. Please let us know the outcome or specific error messages when attempting to manually import the database, as advised in the support ticket.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page