Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Remote backup directory change?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by uk01, Nov 2, 2017.

Tags:
  1. uk01

    uk01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hi, I got disk full errors tonight from the remote destination.

    When I checked I was confused as there was no incremental backups for tonight or last night (since v68 update). The last folder in /home/ was 2 days old.

    Then by accident I found them in /root/home/. It seems v68 started putting them in /root.

    Am I correct in thinking it has started complete new backups? I'm assuming so as it filled my drive 100%. So I can ditch the old ones without affecting the integrity of the new folders?

    Why has this changed?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,503
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look at your system to verify what actually happened?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. brt

    brt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm seeing this as well, and only on the remote site.

    Backups used to be in /[servername]/[backup directory]/2017-11-09 and now appear to be going to /[servername]/[backup directory]/home/[servername]/2017-11-09.

    ?????
     
    #3 brt, Nov 9, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2017
  4. brt

    brt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah, the Backup Directory that you enter in Backup Settings for the remote host appears to have changed to relative, so the path is doubled up.

    Old path was:
    /backup/path

    New path is:
    /backup/path/backup/path

    Why did this change?
     
  5. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Can you share the screenshot of the path you are referring to? This would give a clear picture of what is happening.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,503
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    This behavior stems from the following case implemented in cPanel version 68:

    Fixed case CPANEL-15309: Backup Rsync transport: make link-dest option absolute.

    Internal case CPANEL-16515 is now open to determine if the new behavior is by design, and if so, to ensure we document that information. I'll update this thread with more information on the status of this case as it becomes available.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. brt

    brt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can't tell you how frustrating this is. Is there any way to currently use an absolute directory path anymore?

    If I enter "/backup/path" it still puts the backup inside the user folder under "{userdir}/backup/path/*".

    This behavior is new as of this last week or two.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,503
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can use the following value to define the root directory until a resolution is published:

    Code:
    /../
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,503
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    To update, it was determined the current behavior is by design. Per the case:

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice