Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Remote backups require local storage

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by 8p-design, Apr 24, 2018.

  1. 8p-design

    8p-design Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    The cpanel backup seem to require a LOCAL disk space before it can be copied elsewhere.
    Since SSD disk space is PREMIUM these days on servers. We feel the strategy is a fail to use it as the local drive as repository.

    Why is cpanel forcing us to first have the backup saved to the local server before it can be sent elsewhere? This brings the IO on the server disk to the roof, eats space and does not serve our client properly.

    When is cpanel dev team going to allow for a remote server to be the main repository of the backup and run the cpbackup from outside the server to pull data out of the server, rather than saving local.

    I feel we should be able install cpbackup.sh on a remote server, so it connects to the cp server via ssh and do it's own work through some rsync -diff.

    Am I crazy!?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @8p-design,

    The following feature requests relate to this topic:

    To avoid the load on the server, there is a make offer to find a way generate the backup on the remote server.
    Ability to send backup in multiple chunks to the remote server to avoid overload local storage
    Provide SSHFS support for Backups

    I encourage you to vote and add additional comments to any or all of these feature requests if you'd like to see them implemented.

    One option to consider in the meantime is to use the Incremental backup type combined with the Rsync destination. While it would still result in the utilization of disk space during the initial backup generation, subsequent backup generations would only require disk space for the files/directories that were new or modified.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. 8p-design

    8p-design Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Thanks for your reply.

    FEATURE REQUESTS:
    There seem to be multiple feature requests indeed for the same thing. Hoping that the fact they are spread across all those will not impair their consideration among cPanel project owners.

    INCREMENTAL + RSYNC
    This being said, the "Incremental backup type combined with the Rsync destination" in fact still require for the WHOLE backup to be stored and left on the production server to reduce Disk IO and rsync impact on load.

    If you want to save disk space and decide to remove the local copy after rsync by De-selecting "Retain backups in the default backup directory"), then you are back to square one in terms of server load and disk IO as the whole backup has to be recreated before the rsync does it's diff transfer. Every day. :/

    It seems fine when you have a mini server. But when you have +1TB for +60 accounts, it becomes unsustainable.

    Again, the only solution would be for another system to launch a local cpbackup shell script that would connect via SSH to the cpserver, read accounts one by one and pulls the updates across ssh rsync. This is the way to handle offsite backups in a professional manner.

    Currently, backup eat too much premium disk space.
     
    #3 8p-design, Apr 24, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2018
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Yes, you are correct about the storage requirement during the local backup generation. I've seen other users purchase and mount a non-SSD drive as /backup for this purpose. That might be something to consider until one of the feature requests referenced in my last response is implemented.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. 8p-design

    8p-design Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    There is most often no option to install extra drives as the machine was brought up for production and is already maximized.

    The production server should not be used to backup.

    Again, the real need here is for a remote machine to manage the whole backup process. Not copying over and over and over.

    Is this something in the plans? Thanks Michael!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There's no plan for that at this time, but I encourage you to vote and add feedback to the existing feature requests noted in the earlier response.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. 8p-design

    8p-design Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice