The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote FTP backup produces 0kb files

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DSD, Sep 25, 2003.

  1. DSD

    DSD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've set the remote ftp backup in my whm, and it seems to work fine, but when I login to the remote server via ftp, 20% or so of my tar files are 0kb.

    I've kept the old backups, and these sites had backed up fine previously.

    Any ideas?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. DSD

    DSD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just checked and the backups to my 2nd hard drive seems fine, with the correct filesizes

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    use a small script to either ftp or scp them to remote machine and delete from local machine.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. neilh

    neilh Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also having this problem with ftp backup - ALL of my tar files are 0kB. Also, I am not finding the anything in my backup directory. I am assuming these two are directly related. Ang guidance?
     
  5. DSD

    DSD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my problem was that my remote account was over it's alotted space. Try deleting some files and doing it again.
     
  6. ebinfo

    ebinfo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i got the same issue right now.

    remote FTP server is on my dekstop with unlimited quota, so no problem there. it gives an error about null value when trying to receive the thing. some other times it says data connection closed so i am wondering if the problem is on the cpanel server, or on the remote ftp server.

    edit: tried connecting with an FTP client and it all worked fine, uploads are working and so forth, so i am thinking it's something to do with the remote FTP backup feature.
     
    #6 ebinfo, Aug 5, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2006
  7. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A likely cause of zero size files (other than quota problems) is that the data channel couldn't be established. This is usually on a different port number and is quite hard to make work through firewalls. Try switching between active and passive ftp (helps with access through firewalled architectures) and/or moving to scp over ssh; scp is preobably a better solution anyway.
     
  8. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Make sure there's enough disk space on your cpanel system to create the required archive file before it gets ftp'd to your ftp server.

    If the cpanel backup system runs out of space when creating the tarball... it will create a 0k file.

    (ie: If you try to backup a 10gb account, but have only 9gb available space...)
     
Loading...

Share This Page