Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Remote ftp bakcup problem

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by project, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. project

    project Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello guys,
    i am experiencing the following problem:
    I have set up WHM to take a remote backup to a remote ftp server which is located inside my office. All accounts are backed up with no problem, but only one account has file size 0. This account occupies about 3,5G of space in my server.

    Allthough the backup is not taken, i have found that there are some folders with the name of this account in /home/cpbackuptmp/cpbackup/daily.

    Why this backup is stored in this folder and not to my remote ftp server??
    Any ideas how to fix this??

    Thank you in advance
    Konstantinos
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,378
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please check the cPanel backup logs to determine if there were any errors during the transfer of this archive to the remote FTP server. The cPanel backup logs are located within:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. project

    project Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    the logs shows the following error.

    Code:
    ....
    Creating Archive ....
    gzip: stdout: Disk quota exceeded
    
    ERROR: tar of backup archive returned error 13
    [cpbackup] Failed to back up account xxxxxxxx
    [cpbackup] Copying daily backups to weekly backups for retention
    ...
    How do i fix this error??

    Thank you!
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. project

    project Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The account disk space is 7G and the total disk space usage is 3.3G..

    Thanks
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are you able to perform a Full Backup of that account from within its cPanel?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. project

    project Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes i can without any problem.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try increasing this accounts quota and force the remote backup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Typically, this error indicates the partition in question has exceeded the quota:

    Code:
    gzip: stdout: Disk quota exceeded
    Do you have /backup on a different partition or is it in / partition? If it is and the space isn't sufficiently large to take the backup, then you could see that occur. The files have to write somewhere during creation before ftping to the remote machine. If the backups are being created in /backup and have 0 size, then it is that folder and the partition it is in reaching quota limits.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice