The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote ftp option

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by haz_, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. haz_

    haz_ Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can someone explain a bit about the way remote ftp works in WHM backup configuration? If I set "Backup Type" to be "Remote FTP (Accounts Only)" does this mean that local backups will be disabled completely, and that configuration files and MySQL databases will not be backed up regardless of those settings? If so then that seems pretty limited, is there any easy way to have it just backup everything to ftp, or do most people use their own backup scripts?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All account data will be backed up (including account databases) but server data will not be backed up (e.g. databases used for Horde).
     
  3. haz_

    haz_ Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That didn't make it much clearer. Anyone else care to try and be a bit more helpful?
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Pretty clear to me "local backups will be disabled"
    sites will be backed up so you can restore them on any cpanel server

    server configuration files will not be backed up
    proftpd,valiases,vdomainaliases,etc,etc,etc which would be backed up with a local backup
     
  5. haz_

    haz_ Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, but why are aren't server config files backed up too? It seems strange to make local/remote backup a mutually exclusive choice when the two options aren't equivalent.
     
  6. alankru

    alankru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can we use a remote ftp backup solution that offers a samba mount and be able to treat it as a local disk backup rather than FTP?
     
  7. E-IndiaWeb

    E-IndiaWeb Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thats a good option but doubt anyone can help in this.
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are able to mount the remote share on the local server, then simply configure the backup to use the mount point as the backup destination.
     
    #8 cPanelKenneth, Jul 25, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2008
  9. alankru

    alankru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your reply.

    Looking at http://bqbackup.com/

    The samba mount that they offer, if you could get it setup (and I don't know exactly how a samba mount works) could you then configure it as a local backup pointing to the mount (eg. "/backup"), thereby getting all the benefits of a local secondary backup drive (eg. backing up the server configuration files not available via FTP)?
     
  10. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    That is correct.. A samba mount (windows) or NFS mount (linux) will be seen as a local drive or partition so it will complete your full backups.

    If you have another linux box or vps handy, you can easily create a NFS mount on each box and store backups between the servers by creating local backups and then simply rsync the data to the nfs shares. Very simple and effective.
     
  11. alankru

    alankru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I see. Thanks for that info. So it would have to be an FTP service provider offering an NFS mount that I want then? (as I have a linux VPS I want to remotely backup with cpanel)
     
  12. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    FTP and NFS are totally different animals. If you can find a service that offers a NFS or samba mount such as the one you listed, then you will have no trouble setting up what you need.

    I see they offer rsync for your backups so I would recommend contacting them as they seem to offer help with setups and configure what you need.

    What I recommend is taking local incremental backups and then use the backup service with rsync. This would provide the least amount of bandwidth by transferring only changed files.
     
  13. alankru

    alankru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Doesn't cpanel use rsync to make local incremental backups? Therefore, if I used an NFS mount and set it up as a local backup in cpanel it would backup incrementally using rsync (but it would be saved remotely)?

    Thanks.
     
  14. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes that would be correct. But the point I was getting at is you would have a local and a remote backup copy. Your remote copy would of course be used for local failure.
     
  15. alankru

    alankru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I see, thanks for that info. Unfortunately, on a VPS like myself, I would only have the option of keeping my own remote backups.

    Last question; can I use a samba mount with linux? or does it have to be NFS?
     
  16. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes you would use samba to talk between linux and the windows share location. Its not hard to setup at all.
     
  17. alankru

    alankru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Fantastic, thanks very much for all your help!:)
     
  18. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Keep in mind that using ftp without any encryption e.g. ssl means showing your passwords to the world.
     
    #18 lorio, Jul 29, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page