The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote MySQL and Horde no workee workee

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MarlboroMan, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. MarlboroMan

    MarlboroMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    With a new horde upgrade, comes new issues.

    Horde on a remote MySQL server does not function correctly as of the latest upgrade - here is the fix:

    The short answer:

    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/config/conf.php is missing:

    $conf['sql']['protocol'] = 'tcp';

    Put it in the same general area as the other $conf['sql'] lines, so it continues to read cleanly.

    The long answer:

    It appears that Horde does not recognize that the database is not local, even when the hostspec doesn't read 'localhost', so it still continues to attempt to connect via the local socket. Putting in that line forces Horde to use the network, and it correctly connects to the remote MySQL server.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have you created a bugzilla entry for this, so that cPanel are made aware?
     
  3. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    Excellent, been searching for an hour regarding this issue. Changing the protocol from Unix to tcp (Machine is running Unix) indeed seems to kick horde in the ass to use the remote server.

    Many thanks.
     
  4. szym2

    szym2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I still have some problem
    fullhordereset gets some error like

    DBD::mysql::st execute failed: Table 'horde.horde_categories' doesn't exist at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/horde_update_usernames line 42.
    DBD::mysql::st fetchrow_hashref failed: fetch() without execute() at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/horde_update_usernames line 43.

    But i know thats not important
    I also see that tables horde.horde_datatree and horde.horde_datatree_attributes are empty even after run fullhordereset and resethorde
    Any help ?

    also see:
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php 2004-09-13_add_uid_field.php

    X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.11
    Set-Cookie: Horde=440dde7d32a075bfb57f40d5b7ebb73b; path=/horde; domain=127.0.0.1
    Expires: Thu, 19 Nov 1981 08:52:00 GMT
    Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0
    Pragma: no-cache
    Content-Type: text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1


    ** UIDs successfully stored. ***

    I know thats not great that i cant see any uids printed
     
Loading...

Share This Page