The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote MySQL and /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by emechanic, Jul 3, 2006.

  1. emechanic

    emechanic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've been reading through this forum and evidentally people are using remote mysql servers with their cpanels. I'm wanting to do the same thing but run into a slight problem.

    I've sync'd up the mysql database to the remote server. then rsync'd all the users databases to the remote mysql server and on the local server I've setup rinetd to forward 3306 on all the ips to the remote database server.

    Then I set WHM "Setup Remote MySQL Server' to point to the remote database server and it seems ok, yet every forum on the server gives me the missing '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' file when I turn off the local mysql.

    Am I missing something?
     
  2. avijit

    avijit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Have you setup the remore mysql server properly. Check the SQL Services >> Setup Remote MySQL server >> Check the "Current mySQL Server" there . Does it show that other than "localhost" ?
     
  3. emechanic

    emechanic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I didn't think that remote server needed to have cpanel installed on it.

    I installed mysql from source. the version I'm using is the same version that all the rest of the other servers that are currently using their own mysql server instead of the dedicated servers.
     
  4. emechanic

    emechanic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the deal is this:

    I've created a dedicated remote mysql. it works just fine. I"ve setup cpanel to use it. THAT works.

    BUT

    when I go into fantastico and create a new forum. I get:

    Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket

    obviously I've turned off the local mysql so yeah, the socket isn't going to be there. its going to be on the remote db.

    I can go into myphpadmin and create a new db, new db user and it works just fine.

    but when I setup something in fantastico, nadda. error.
     
  5. Shazan

    Shazan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  6. p-root

    p-root Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    INDIA
    Hi,

    i am facing the same issue ,i have configured 3 server with hard ware load balancers(2 web servers and 1 database server),when i setup remote mysql server for all the server,the url or domain throws an error like :-

    Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket

    Please do need ful ......!!
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Turn off socket connections in that instance ---

    You will want to be using network connects
     
Loading...

Share This Page