The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote mysql doesn't work again, here it he phpmyadmin error

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by DWHS.net, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,594
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    phpMyAdmin - error

    #2005 - Unknown MySQL server host '"12.123.123.123"' (1)

    --

    Any help is appreciated. Nad it's not the firewall, some servers work some don't.
     
  2. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm receiving the same error after setting up remote mysql, if I try to load phpmyadmin from cpanel I get "phpMyAdmin - error 2005 - Unknown MySQL server host '"##.##.##.##"' (1)"


    I've also had trouble moving accounts from my old server to this new one, the transfer looks like it works but the databases cannot be accessed from the site afterwards, the only way so far I've found to get the database working is to delete them and create new databases and users from scratch.

    The old server is using mysql 4.0.27 and the new server is running 4.1.21, I'm guessing the transfer account code doesn't deal with mysql version differences.


    Pete
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check the PHPMyAdmin configuration file. The hostname might have too many quotes in it. If so, remove the extra quotes. The same if you exerpience this with Horde and remote MySQL
     
  4. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Kenneth, that was indeed the problem, I looked at the config file a few hours ago and completly failed to notice the additional quotes.

    Thanks Again :)
    Pete
     
  5. mitgib

    mitgib Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nice to see this answer my question too, thanks Kenneth!
     
  6. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,594
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yep that fixed it, thanks!
     
  7. astar

    astar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi,

    can you pls. provide me the steps as to how to set this in phpmyAdmin, i'm not familiar with it. i mean how to check if it obtains double quotes.

    thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page