The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote MySQL?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jhyland87, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. jhyland87

    jhyland87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I saw that WHM has a remote mysql server option. I am thinking about using it, only question I have is... if I use it, and everyone has the mysql server set to localhost, will that kill the mysql websites?

    If so, what can I do to fix this? Other than have all my customers go into the script manually to change the mysql server...

    Also, what will change? Will restores still work well? Will it create mysql users/dbs when a user requests it?.. etc

    And.... will it ever be possible to use more than 1 mysql server?

    Thanks!
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The configs won't have to be changed, yes backups should work. Everything can keep using localhost

    Well you could use more then 1 MySQL server via something like mysql-proxy but it is not something that is supported at all.
     
  3. szaboszilard

    szaboszilard Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    db

    Hi!

    A have set up a cpanel with remote mysql server.
    My demo config:
    cpanel:
    centos VPS with cpanel WHM (demo)
    mysql:
    debian VPS

    the configuration is OK, it works.

    We have got 200 customers, and we will to change to cpanel.
    The MYSQL server is on a solaris zone. It is possible to make the remote connecting with it. I will import the 200 users MYSQL databases to cpanel, with privileges (user settings). The mail/web dir a will import manuali to cpanel server(copy-paste-setuser:group).

    It is possible? Works it?

    Thanx xilu
     
  4. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    how is this done ?

    I tried using the mysql change to remote mysql server - but it seems it just did not work well.

    The databases did not get copied over - is this something we manually have to dump?
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Correct. It is up to the server admin to migrate the databases to the remote server. If that is not already noted in the Remote MySQL setup interface it should definitely be added.
     
Loading...

Share This Page