The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remove a user: its /home/virtfs/<user> don't disappear

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nzin, Jun 20, 2013.

  1. nzin

    nzin Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm doing some tests.
    I have create a user, let's call it "bob". And I disable shell access.
    When I try to connect via ssh, I'm rejected. no problem
    I can still connect via sftp. It is fine to me. At this point, it create a /home/virtfs/bob directory.

    I now terminate the account.
    It delete the user, the database, but not the /home/virtfs/bob directory. Why?

    I use latest version: WHM 11.38.0 (build 18)


    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. xavnh

    xavnh Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    We have the same problem. When we need to delete an account from Whmcs or cPanel WHM, the jailshell folder in virtfs is not deleted even after a reboot. It's really uncofortable when you manage multiple accounts. If you need to delete all this files manually, it's a nightmare.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are instructions under the "How to remove VirtFS" section in the document linked in my last response. It explains how to unmount a bind-mounted directory before deleting any files. Are you experiencing problems as a result of the virtfs directory that remains after an account is terminated?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page