SOLVED Remove Account Without Removing DNS?

stephanw

Registered
Apr 13, 2018
3
1
3
South Africa
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hi All,

My first post here and total newbie to the cPanel world.

I currently have two cPanel servers both using the same two WHM nameservers. When I've created an account on the one server, then migrate it over to the other, is it safe to remove the account from the old server without removing the DNS entries? I've seen this before where removing the account on the old server will delete all DNS records, but due to both servers using the same name servers the account on the active server then doesn't work.

Also, is there a script or way to resave the account's domains to the name servers in the event that the DNS records have been deleted?

Thanks.
 

PenguinInternet

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
Jun 20, 2007
190
23
68
Cardiff, UK
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Twitter
When you are deleting accounts on the old server, go to "Terminate Accounts" in WHM and you will see a tick box alongside the domain name with an option for "Keep DNS Zone". That will remove the account from the server but leave the zone in place.

If you delete a zone, you can use the "Add a DNS Zone" option to recreate it (and associate it with the applicable hosting account) and it will add all of the applicable standard entries into the zone for you.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,910
2,213
363
Hello,

The information in the previous post should help. Let us know if you have any additional questions.

Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: stephanw