Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Remove domain.com/cPanel & WHM URL

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sametto Chan, Aug 21, 2017.

  1. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    are you on a dedicated server with root access or in a shared hosting environment ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm on VPS Server for self-managed. It's fully root access.

    Anyone still knows there?
     
    #3 Samet Chan, Aug 21, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2017
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    The instructions in the links you provided were intended for systems using EasyApache 3. With EasyApache 4, you'd have to follow the instructions below:

    1. Copy the Apache 2.4 template for EasyApache 4 to allow for customization:

    Code:
    cp -a /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.default /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.local
    2. Edit /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.local to change the entries to match your preferences:

    Code:
    vi /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.local
    For instance, if you wanted to disable the /cpanel alias, you'd remove this line when editing the file:

    Code:
    ScriptAliasMatch ^/?cpanel/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
    3. Rebuild the Apache configuration file:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    Keep in mind the ".local" template takes precedence over the ".default" template. You will have to manually update the ".local" template every time a new default template is issued. As of cPanel 64.0.19, notifications are sent when the EA4 default templates are updated and a local template file exists:

    Fixed case CPANEL-12933: Notify admins of EA4 template changes if .local versions exist.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Sametto Chan likes this.
  5. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thank you!

    I'm on EA4 and v66.0.14 current version.

    1,2 number question. Is it on SSH for root access right? Or SFTP.

    Answer another my two question,

    2.
    Code:
    cp -a /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.default
    [root@x ~]# cp -a /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.default
    cp: missing destination file operand after ‘/var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.default’
    Try 'cp --help' for more information.
    
    Looks like are not working command line.
     
    #5 Samet Chan, Aug 22, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2017
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You'd use SSH as "root" with these instructions.

    That's not the full command referenced in my response. It's:

    Code:
    cp -a /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.default /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.local
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Sametto Chan likes this.
  7. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Code:
    <IfModule alias_module>
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?controlpanel/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?cpanel/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?kpanel/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?securecontrolpanel/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/sredirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?securecpanel/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/sredirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?securewhm/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/swhmredirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?webmail$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/wredirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?webmail/ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/wredirect.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/?whm/?$ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/whmredirect.cgi
    [% IF autodiscover_proxy_subdomains -%]
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/Autodiscover/Autodiscover.xml /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/autodiscover.cgi
        ScriptAliasMatch ^/autodiscover/autodiscover.xml /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/autodiscover.cgi
    [% END -%]
    
        Alias /bandwidth /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/
        Alias /img-sys /usr/local/cpanel/img-sys/
        Alias /java-sys /usr/local/cpanel/java-sys/
        Alias /mailman/archives /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/archives/public/
        Alias /pipermail /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/archives/public/
        Alias /sys_cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/
    
        ScriptAlias /cgi-sys /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/
        ScriptAlias /mailman /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/cgi-bin/
        [% IF file_test('f', '/usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/scgiwrap') %]ScriptAlias /scgi-bin /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/scgiwrap[% END %]
    </IfModule>
    
    1. Can I remove WHM and cPanel, Webmail?

    2. But What about kPanel?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    You can remove any of those "ScriptAliasMatch" if you want to disable the use of those aliases.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Also, Can I remove autodiscover Proxy_domains too?

    I can't enter "Backspace" remove of lines in SSH for vi, Possible for nano?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can use the text editor of your preference (e.g. nano, vim).

    Yes, but keep in mind that will prevent the use of the autodiscover subdomain.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Alright, Also I'll use SFTP to edit that file? Or just only on SSH nano?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, you could download the file via SFTP, edit it, and then upload the new copy.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Doesn't work. I removed lines then restarted httpd.conf say OK. I checked site.com/cpanel and whm still up.

    Code:
    [root@x ~]# /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    Built /etc/apache2/conf/httpd.conf OK
    
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try clearing your browser cache or testing from another browser to make sure you are not visiting a cached URL.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I cleared cache browser said still WHM and cPanel up. I'll use chrome incognito said same too. Another I'll use Firefox browser said same too.
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is working well on a test server. It's possible you made some incorrect changes to the ea4_main.local file. Could you open the /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.local file on the server using the "vi" command? EX:

    Code:
    vi /var/cpanel/templates/apache2_4/ea4_main.local
    Does it look formatted correctly? You will sometimes face encoding issues when editing a file on a Windows-based machine and then uploading it directly via SFTP.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I did just nano from SSH has saved file then httpd.conf is restarted but nothing.
    Screenshot_1.png
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if you'd like us to take a closer look to see why it's not working.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Support ticket ID: 8806225
     
  20. Samet Chan

    Samet Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It is fixed! Thanks to cPanel support!

     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice