Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remove Incomplete Backups From Account

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by scottyadam, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. scottyadam

    scottyadam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    An account was doing a full backup...not sure why twice, then the server got overloaded and crashed. Still trying to figure out if the backups were the issue, however, how do I get rid of this in the backup control panel for this user? They can't possibly be active, I've checked the processes and nothing coming up related to backup or cpanel....

    I attached an image to show what I mean...

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you see the 2 files in File Manager, root of the account?
     
  3. scottyadam

    scottyadam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    yup! I do, I see 4 actually but one with the tar.gz and one without. Delete them?

    Now i'm having a completely separate issue! I start the backup, it takes 30min and I see the new backup file created, however when I get the confirmation email that the backup completed successfully, I go to the directory is says, the file has disappeared! whoa...that's weird...did it get transferred somewhere by the cpanel backup script? I have no scripts running on the machine that would move or delete anything like this....
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That's correct, yes.

    When you backup the account manually from the cPanel account, the backup is left in the root of the account, where you found the partial backups. When the system backs up accounts it saves them in the backup directory configured in the backup settings in WebHost Manager.

    What directory does the email mention?
    Do you have a backup drive that may be umounting after backups complete? That's a setting in the backup configuration.
     
  5. scottyadam

    scottyadam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    ok, those are deleted. problem one solved :)

    So the email I got said /home/wildero0/ which is the user's root dir. I searched in there and no tar.gz files - super weird.

    I checked in the backup configuration and there is no unmounting or mounting...
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    So it was a backup you manually ran from in the account. Assuming there are now no backups partial or otherwise, try running a Full Website Backup again and choose the option leave in Home Directory and see if it completes as expected.
     
  7. scottyadam

    scottyadam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Yes, sorry, forgot to mention that. I ran it manually to the home directory.

    So I just tried the full backup, I saw the file get created:
    -rw-r--r-- 1 wildero0 wildero0 13 Feb 2 20:52 backup-2.2.2017_20-52-50_wildero0.tar.gz

    Then, I got an email:
    You can access a list of locally-stored backups via cPanel’s “Backups” interface:
    cPanel > Backup > Download a Full Website Backup

    The backup file is named “backup-2.2.2017_20-52-50_wildero0.tar.gz”
    The server saved the backup file in the “/home/wildero0/” directory.

    Now I go to that directory and nothing! it's like it just deleted itself...

    I went to the full backup page in cpanel and where it says "Backups Available for Download" where it had the 'in progress' backup, nothing is there...

    so weird...
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Indeed. How large is the account and does it have enough space for the backup to complete properly?
    What tier of cPanel is your server running?
     
  9. scottyadam

    scottyadam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    12G on the site/settings plus the mail (symlink to another bigger drive) which is 67GB - lots of IMAP users.

    too big?
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hmm, maybe. :-p

    You know what though, I think I might suggest you open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support. They might have an interest in taking a closer look at your account to see what's happening with your very large backups.
     
  11. scottyadam

    scottyadam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Sure thing. I'm trying to figure out how to backup this account for restore another server. Naturally crashes when i try to use the 'transfer account' page because the backup takes too long on the current server.

    I have 2 directories (under the /home/wildero0/) that are giants. The /home/wildero0/mail directory and a media directory in the public_html/. Could I simply move those away and back them up seperately, then on the new server just unzip them in the appropriate directories? I guess what I'm really asking is, is there anything in the /home/wildero0/mail that would be server specific that the transfer tool 'does some majic on' ?
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  13. scottyadam

    scottyadam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Would there be any issues with just simply 'dropping in' the /home/wildero0/mail/ folder on the new server?

    Are there any files in there changed by the cpanel backup to have it successfully work on the new server?
     
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not that I'm aware of, no.
     
Loading...

Share This Page