The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remove package info

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by notKnown, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. notKnown

    notKnown Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all!!

    I have a quick question, please forgive if this has been answered before (could not find any) and guide to appropriate topic.

    I have created several accounts under a package called "music", but now I wish to remove all the sites under that package and keep default package info, thats is "undefined".

    How do I proceed?

    Thanks in advance
    Safwan
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You wish to remove the sites or you wish to remove the package from all those sites.
     
  3. notKnown

    notKnown Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just remove the package, not the sites.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Move them to a new package you create. They need a package one way or the other.
     
  5. notKnown

    notKnown Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the problem being.. none of these account have common features that a single package can be used, thats the main reason why i want to keep package info as "undefined"

    thanks~
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is not guaranteed.

    ON the command line, do this:

    Code:
    cd /var/cpanel/users
    
    Then, open file corresponding to your user in your favorite text editor (pico, vim, emacs, etc):

    Code:
    vim user
    
    Find the line beginning with the work PLAN and change the value after the = to the work undefined. Thus:

    before
    Code:
    PLAN=music
    
    after
    Code:
    PLAN=undefined
    
    Save the file.

    The package is now changed for that user. Repeat for each user. If you have a lot of users (but not all), then you might what to create a short script that does this for you.


    Please note that this does not change any of the limits/quotas defined by packages. If you want to change the limits/quotas, then modify the account after doing the above.
     
  7. notKnown

    notKnown Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks!!
    will give this a try.
     
Loading...

Share This Page