Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Remove Softaculous

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jimlongo, Jan 15, 2018.

  1. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hi, is there a way to remove Softaculous completely from my VPS?

    So that it doesn't run updates and is not available in WHM and cPanel.
     
  2. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Uninstall - Softaculous Wiki

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPWilliamL likes this.
  3. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thanks, it seems that this breaks it in cPanel. Icon is still there, clicking it errors on the softaculous page.

    What I was hoping for was to remove it and its updates in WHM.
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    You will have to unregister the Softaculous app also from the server, so it will not appear in the WHM.. Use the below command:

    # /usr/local/cpanel/bin/unregister_appconfig <app_name>

    In addition, if the above does not work, use the below steps:
    # cd /var/cpanel/apps/
    # /usr/local/cpanel/bin/unregister_appconfig /var/cpanel/apps/<softaculous_config_Name>.conf
    # rm -fv /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/<softaculous_app_name>.cgi
    # /usr/local/cpanel/bin/update_appconfig_apps


    Replace part of it with proper configuration file of the app you want to uninstall..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,691
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Let us know if the previous post helps.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thanks, but the net result is I still have the icon for Softaculous in WHM, and it causes a cPanel 403 if you click it.

    In cPanel there are 2 icons. Click either will lead to a 404.

    There is no trace of Softaculous in /var/cpanel/apps
    And no softaculous.cgi file in /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi - although there is a folder which I moved.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,691
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You may also want to review the files and directories within the /var/cpanel/integration/ directory to see if any entries for this application exist. If so, remove the entries and then run the following command:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_sprites
    Additionally, consider reaching out to the Softaculous support team directly to see if they can update their uninstall instructions to ensure the required files are removed.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I think I was not careful enough with rpvw's instructions when I first ran them.
    need to remove root> from each line
    Ran that again today, rebuilt sprites, rebooted server, checked whisky supply, went away for an hour . . .

    It's all gone now.

    Thanks for the help.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice