The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remove Tomcat Howto???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vishal, May 3, 2003.

  1. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello All,

    Could any one help me out in Removing the Tomcat from my server as i has screwed my httpd.

    The removal should be safe and should not harm my server ???

    Plssssss any help will be appreciated

    Regards,
    :( :eek:
     
  2. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just comment out the tomcat modules in httpd.conf then start the bloody thing.
     
  3. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Thanks!!

    Hello,

    Thanks for the reply.

    But will it cause anything to Apache or any other deamon. I don't want to get overloaded with more work now.


    Regards,
     
  4. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Vishal look in httpd.conf and comment out everthing pointing to tomcat then restart Apache. I did this awhile ago. It will not break anything. If you get errors then you need to look for more Tomcat modules. There should be two of them. I cant remember which ones exactly because i removed mine a long time ago. And never use the the option INSTALL SERVLETS from WHM after that.
     
  5. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    found these

    Hello,

    I found these two entries in my httpd.conf. I'll comment them.

    LoadModule jk2_module libexec/mod_jk2.so
    AddModule mod_jk2.c

    But there is no other way that will completely wipe of this from my server.

    Regards,
     
  6. flashweb

    flashweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Even if we just comment out LoadModule jk2_module libexec/mod_jk2.so and AddModule mod_jk2.c from httpd.conf

    There will be lot of jdk/jsp process running on the server.

    Any way to remove these ?
     
  7. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Re: found these

    Commenting these entries removed the Logging of tomcat records from error_log and also removed the entry (mod_jk2) from the WHM Page.

    and even the server load is fine now :)

    Regards,
    :p
     
  8. flashweb

    flashweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Will it remove these processes ?

    root@server1 [~]# ps -aux|grep jdk
    root 1072 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:12 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1123 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:04 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1124 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:14 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1144 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1147 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1170 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 3:25 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1171 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1172 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1173 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:03 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1230 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:24 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1231 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1244 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 1:13 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1248 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:23 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1253 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1255 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 1:12 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1299 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1300 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1301 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1302 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1303 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 1:27 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1304 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1305 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1306 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1307 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
    root 1308 0.0 3.9 226988 10124 ? S May03 0:00 /usr/local/jdk/bi
     
  9. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Mine has stopped!

    /usr/local/stoptomcat
    try this.

    Regards,
     
  10. flashweb

    flashweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is

    /usr/sbin/stoptomcat

    on my server. I tryed and all processes stoped.

    On server reboot everything back again.

    Anyway its good to stop everything.
     
  11. Alarion

    Alarion Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    tomcat shoudl be installed into

    /usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.1.12-src/

    the binaries are in
    /usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.1.12-src/build/bin

    You can try removing the tomcat dir if you like. I don't know what adverse affects it will have on startup scripts (I would imagine just an error being logged that it couldn't find the binary).
     
  12. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This sounds a bit scary. Anyone try this?

     
  13. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page