Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

removing cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hamodi, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. Hamodi

    Hamodi Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello evrybody!
    Wanna remove cpanel from my root server, can u explain me how to do it?
     
    #1 Hamodi, Sep 27, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2005
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There is only one way. Reinstall the O/S.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Hamodi

    Hamodi Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Other method plz... I have many Customers on my Server and they have too much Databases on MySql. It would taken a long time to backup all the Webs and the databases!

    Help plz!!! :eek:
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    There isn't really any other method. When cpanel is installed, it makes modifications to some of the basic system programs. A good server admin who really knows cpanel may be able to remove it for you, but it would not be a complete job.

    The best option is to get another server without cpanel and transfer the accounts over.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Hamodi

    Hamodi Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    thx all!!! but i'll try to
    1. delete the directory and contents of /usr/local/cpanel & /scripts
    2. remove all the cPanel startup scripts
    3. kill any cPanel related processes
    4. reconfigure remaining applications which i want to continue to use such as Apache, BIND etc . :( :eek:

    Wish me Luck Boys
     
  6. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    If i were you, i'd first secure a complete drive image before proceeding that way ;)

    Do let us know if you do that job successfully

    All the best.
     
  7. mgsnnetworks

    mgsnnetworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Rhyl, North Wales, UK
    Also try readıng my post on backıng up and copyıng fıles and do ıt that way. copy the fıles ın home to a tarball and then download ıt. then reformaty and extract your tar of home ınto the home dır
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Hamodi

    Hamodi Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    thx,
    i did it this way already :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice