Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

removing main ip adress

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by gadalf, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I orderd a new vps and its ip was blacklisted, I asked my vps provider and they changed the ip adress from the vps control panel but not from the vps and send me this mesage:

    "Since we changed the main IP in our records and due to the fact that the old IP address ********** has been removed from your account, we would kindly ask you to also remove this IP address from the configuration on your server. "

    I have changed main ip in Basic cPanel & WHM Setup
    created name servers with the new ip, deleted ns records with the old ip.
    I cant Add an A Entry for Your Hostname it tells Sorry, a DNS entry for ******* already exists .

    so when i go to to delete ip in the note it shows that this ip is used with one of the old nemaeservers which I have deleted as ns records.

    can you tell me plz what to do?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Check to see if an entry for that IP address still exists in the following file:

    /etc/ips

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I checked and they show both there.
     
  4. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    can I follow the steps shown here :
    codero.com/knowledge-base/questions/248/How+to+change+the+primary+IP+addres+of++a+WHM%7B47%7DcPanel+server?
     
    #4 gadalf, Mar 15, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2015
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, those steps are acceptable when changing the IP address of your server. Feel free to let us know if the issue persists after making those changes.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice