Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

removing redirects

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nshreders, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. nshreders

    nshreders Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    chicago, IL
    I had an interesting issue today where a customer wanted a redirect moved. In cPanel I went to Site Management -> Redirects, and clicked remove. It appeared successful but the redirect worked. I opened another browser and it still worked so I checked and it appeared no matter how many times I attempted to remove it, the redirect was still listed in cPanel.

    I eventually removed the line from the users .htaccess and the redirect went away and no longer populated in the list. I was curious as to why this happened? I did not see anything in the cPanel error log. Anyone ever see this before?
     
  2. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    What permissions are on the .htaccess?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. nshreders

    nshreders Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    chicago, IL
    .htaccess is 644 and user/group is owned by the username for the account.
     
  4. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    You got my next question too :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. nshreders

    nshreders Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    chicago, IL
    Not a big deal :) I will notify cPanel support for an explanation or at least let them be aware.
     
  6. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Another thought came to mind. Did you look at the .htaccess first? perhaps the entry was in their twice? Or the user added it manually?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice