The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rename key Dkim

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by anderson.deda, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. anderson.deda

    anderson.deda Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello friends of the forum.
    I have a doubt and it is not possible to be realized.
    To enable DKIM authentication on cpanel it automatically creates a key called default._domainkey, I wonder if I can rename this key or create a new one with another name.

    Thank you!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. anderson.deda

    anderson.deda Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello good day.
    I have the following question today, I have to perform authentication in a remote domain, the remote domain also uses cpanel and there is already a default key. created, so on server 1 I have to generate a new key with a custom name, or change its name, so on server 2 I add the second key.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you say remote domain name, do you mean DNS for that domain name is handled on the remote server, or just email is handled by the remote server?

    Please keep in mind that if the DNS for your domain name is handled on a remote name server, then the record added to the zone on the cPanel server will not enable DKIM. It must be setup on the remote name server.

    Thank you.
     
  5. RicoSuavi

    RicoSuavi Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Just the answer is was looking for..
     
  6. anderson.deda

    anderson.deda Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In this remote server processing the e-mail and DNS management is done on the server where I need to change or create DKIM will be held.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on this statement, or provide an example? I'm not sure I fully understand what you are saying here.

    Thank you.
     
  8. anderson.deda

    anderson.deda Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'll try to explain more about the case.
    Today there is one server that is hosting the DNS domain1.
    On server 2 I have to insert a second dkim key, but I can not.

    example:
    If I sign up on the mandrill, they ask me to register a secondary dkim key in my DNS, so they can send emails signed, in practice I want to do the same thing.

    The problem is that when I generate the key it always generates default._domainkey with the name, if I could just change the name of this key or generate a new one with another name the problem would be solved. I have to do this because we know that no good just changing the key name in the DNS editor WHM.

    Thank you very much!
     
Loading...

Share This Page