The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

renamed account, broke something

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Xavier Crespin, Apr 14, 2016.

  1. Xavier Crespin

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I've just imported a website from another hoster into my whm installation, created the account under the hostname example.com
    It worked fine.
    Sometime later in the day i changed my mind and renamed the user account (in whm, not in cpanel) example.fr
    And damn! i was wrong, the main domain is example.com so i changed it back to example.com

    Now it still works but only with the www prefix. www.example.com shows the website, but example.com gives me the example.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi error message.

    Any idea how i can fix this without recreating the account from scratch?

    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. Xavier Crespin

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep, that did it, i had my head so stuck up in other issues, i forgot the basics in troubleshooting...
    Thanks a lot, and sorry for the dumb post!
     
    #3 Xavier Crespin, Apr 15, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page