Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Renaming Logins

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zhongqiang, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. zhongqiang

    zhongqiang Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    You could modify the alias in httpd.conf to do that.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. zhongqiang

    zhongqiang Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    hmm.. how do i get my hands on the "httpd.conf" ?
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    If it's your server, it might be in /usr/local/apache/conf/. If you're a reseller, you can't modify it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. zhongqiang

    zhongqiang Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    i have all the root accesses. But when i get to the datacentre, cpanel seemed to have locked my screen. How do i access the files?
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. zhongqiang

    zhongqiang Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    thanks lots. i had selected putty. But how do i get to the usr/ dir?
    i tried to cd usr/ but i doesnt seem to work. kindly advice. thanks lotss
     
  8. fusioncroc

    fusioncroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    U.K.
    You want to do
    Code:
    cd /usr 
     
  9. zhongqiang

    zhongqiang Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    how do i download the file?
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    To download the file you would either have to copy it to your sites directory or use a secure ftp program like SecureFX from vandyke.com.

    You can edit the file without downloading by using either, pico, nano, or vi, probably other options as well. Make a backup copy before editing just in case the edited version has an error in it. That's easy to do with that file.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice