Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Replacing /cpanel with /Branded

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gunmuse, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. gunmuse

    gunmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I like the fact that each of my users can type /cpanel but I want to do a little branding and have them type http://yourdomain.com/branded instead of http://yourdomain.com/cpanel to enter my cpanel.

    No offense I just want to get the most from my marketing dollars.

    How do we go about doing this without cpanel updates rewriting it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Look in your httpd.conf for this line:

    Code:
    ScriptAlias /cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
    You should be able to replace /cpanel with your own /name

    I haven't tried it... but I think it should work.

    As far as cpanel updates overwriting it... cpanel generally doesn't do much overwriting of information in the httpd.conf... however that might just apply to domain information. You may have to just redo the above modifications after you rebuild apache.
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Don't need to replace that line. Just make a copy of it using your alternative. That way either one will work. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. gunmuse

    gunmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Like the second suggestion better thanks I am sure more than just me will be doing this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Heh, you're right... that would probably be the best solution, so as not to confuse the users who are used to using cpanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice