The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

replacing ssl cert

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by frwjd, Feb 9, 2008.

1. frwjd

frwjd Member

Hi all - sorry newbie here!

I have found many, many topics on ssl certs here but, unless I don't understand them, none to solve my problem.

I am trying to replace an expired cert (from rapid ssl I think) with a new cert from Geotrust. I followed the instructions and everything went ok but there are error messages on my url saying cert has expired or is not active. It looks as though the new cert has not totally over written the old one - does that make sense? :confused:

I've tried to delete the cert and start over again but I get an error message :

The Certificate for www.mydomain cannot be fully deleted, because it is installed in the system ssl directory!

I have been trying to fix this for some time, my host seems to have gone awol and I am losing business. Any assistance greatly appreciated - thanks!

2. frwjd

frwjd Member

Been searching the internet and think I just need to reboot apache - anyone know if that is likely to be the problem?

thanks

3. jayh38

jayh38 Well-Known Member

You shouldn't need to reboot if you are manipulating certs via cpanel / whm. But it seems that you need to remove your old cert before installing the new one. You should be able to delete your old cert through whm in the ssl area. If this isn't working for you then simply delete them manually from /usr/share/ssl and apache.conf references to start with.

4. frwjd

frwjd Member

Hi jayh38 thanks for the reply.

I understand delete them manually from /usr/share/ssl but not and apache.conf references to start with. and would be very grateful if you could elaborate - thanks anyway I will give it a go.

cheers

5. trevHCS

trevHCS Well-Known Member