Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Request exceeded the limit of 10 internal redirects

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vmicovic, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. vmicovic

    vmicovic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Hello,

    i have problem with new subdomains when create.
    all new subdomain show 500 internal server error and in log file i got:
    Request exceeded the limit of 10 internal redirects due to probable configuration error. Use 'LimitInternalRecursion' to increase the limit if necessary.

    When i add in public_html .htaccess with:
    RewriteCond %{ENV:REDIRECT_STATUS} 200
    All is ok.


    what cause this and how to fix?


    thank you!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Anything else in that .htaccess file?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. vmicovic

    vmicovic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    when i create account don`t have .htaccess and show 500 internal error.
    After that i add .htaccess only with: RewriteCond %{ENV:REDIRECT_STATUS} 200 and work.
     
    #3 vmicovic, Aug 2, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're creating a sub.domain correct? Whats in the root domain's htaccess?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. vmicovic

    vmicovic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    sorry Infopro, i am in mean time open cpanel ticket and they resolve it for me.
    Thank you for support!
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For future users having the same issue, the cause of the 500 Internal Server error was due to having an .htaccess file in / location, that file contained the following:

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
       RewriteEngine on
       RewriteRule    ^$ app/webroot/    [L]
       RewriteRule    (.*) app/webroot/$1 [L]
    </IfModule>
    Once these rewrites were commented out, the sites began working per the ticket that was opened.

    Any .htaccess contained at / or /home level will override the .htaccess file on a user's account.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice