The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Require some basic cPanel & Linux info

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by petercon, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. petercon

    petercon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a Background of 26 years IT - developed and setup a number of websites php, html, asp, aspx(.net)x
    Unix - 10+ yrs vi, sed, AWK, Bourne & Korn shell
    Numerous databases (MySql, Oracle, Ingres et Al)

    I cannot get my head around how to set up a domain on my dedicated server and cannot get useful help from my hosting company.

    1. How do I find out/set up my server domain name?
    2. How do I add other domains?
    3. What accounts do I need to set-up or do I just transfer them?
    4. What should the named servers for the new domains be set-to?

    I understand how this is set-up for windows with //localhost and inetpub etc. but cannot see how to do the same on Linux ...please help
    :confused:
    ......no-one is ever to old to learn......and no-one knows everything....
     
  2. Manuel_accu

    Manuel_accu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you installed any control panel? Or you need help installing cpanel.

    If you have not installed control panel then it is recommended that you will install it so that you can eaily manage your hosting with linux via control panel.

    Thanks,
     
  3. aralis

    aralis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lubbock TX
    Echo Manuel,

    Cpanel will install named for you which is a DNS zone server and you can control your DNS with that. Alternatively see if the provider that you purchased the domain through will provide you DNS service. If they are a good registrar then they will do it for free. Otherwise I suggest you look for a new registrar. I use www.namecheap.com
     
  4. petercon

    petercon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Information

    CPanel is already installed.

    I can now access the shell using putty.exe

    1. I have tried adding a virtual host for www.howtofixanything.co.uk in httpd.conf but still no response from the website.
    2. When I then tried to add an account for howtofix in the cpanel it told me to delete the virtual host lines I had entered in the httpd.conf file
    3. So I did this, then added the howtofix account and it put the same virtualhost statements for howtofix as my main domain account
    4. I tried adding these lines for a virtual host as I did in step 1. :-

    # Use name-based virtual hosting.
    #
    NameVirtualHost *:80

    and

    <VirtualHost *:80>
    in the http.conf file
    but still no joy from the website or the ftp for the site.

    I have told my hosting company I am willing to pay someone to help me out but still no response,
    unfortunately I have signed up for a year.

    If anybody can point me in the right direction or provide assistance I will be happy to pay you,

    help...yours
    HPC totally confused :confused:
     
    #4 petercon, Dec 27, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page