The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reseller DNS - NS Not working, Help required

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by atlantis, May 31, 2003.

  1. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hellow everyone, this is going to be a large post and I am hoping some of you take the time to read it all and have some suggesstions as to what else I can try or do.


    I have since taken on 2 new resellers and have set up thier nameservers just like all the others I have already setup.

    This is the problem. I create the hosting account and than convert it to a Reseller, I created the nameservers added the A name to them and had the resellers go to thier registers and create the proper name servers. I have since also confirmed that yes they did do it properly.

    When run a DNS test on the domain this is what I get:

    A timeout occurred getting the NS records from your nameservers! None of your nameservers responded fast enough. They are probably down or unreachable. I can't continue since your nameservers aren't responding.


    When I run a DNS test on the nameserver itself this is what I get:

    [ERROR: I was unable to get an answer from the parent servers, when I tried to find the NS records for ns1.thedomain.com.]

    These tests were performed at: http://dnsreport.com


    Things I have tried:

    - Deleted and recreated the accounts and namservers
    - recreated the A Records
    - Add a DNS Zone
    - Edit a DNS Zone
    - Delete a DNS Zone
    - Perform a DNS Cleanup

    I have read about 30 pages of threads that came back in the search I tried to look for this solution.


    If anyone has any clue as to why these 2 new resellers and thier nameservers are not working or any suggesstions for me, Please post them, I am at a loss as to what is going on and I am sure if I cant get this resolved I will loose them both , understandably.


    Sincerely,

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi Howard and thank you for the reply. Everything comes up fine on this search. What does thins mean do you think? Does this mean its a sever issue or a register issue ?

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm have you tried doing dig @reseller-nameserver domain any (both on server and from another server if possible)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Howard, I did those commands, was that like a flush of the system, as in like a clean up of DNS files, or am I looking for something outta whack? If I am looking for something out of whatk, what should I be looking for, are there any common issues that I should first seek out?


    Sincerely,

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Howard, check this out. These are 2 different "digs" i did on 2 different resellers, one aworks the other doesnt. check it out.


    The one thats not working.


    root@neo [/]# dig @ns1.domain.com
    dig: Couldn't find server 'ns1.domainl.com': Name or service not known



    The Working one.

    root@neo [/]# dig @ns1.domain.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> @ns1.domain.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 44406
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 13, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 13


    Any idea what that means ?

    Thanks in advance.

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #6 atlantis, Jun 2, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2003
  7. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That means the dig program (which basically allows you to query for general or for specfic dns records at a server e.g. to see a record for www.domain.com) could not for whatever reason find the ip for the hostname ns1.domainl.com so it couldn't send a query

    Have you setup the ns1.domainl.com hostname as a nameserver in whm? If so have you tried clicking on the Add A entry button ? (beside the textbox containing the ns1.domainl.com text)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Howard thanks for the fast reply. Yes I have created the nameserver and also created the A name. Did it a couple of time in my troubleshooting venture.


    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    and ns1 is in /var/named/domainl.com.db right? (e.g. as ns1 14400 IN A ip.address may not be exact but should be something like that?)

    Do the logs in /var/log say any problems when restarting named/bind ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. concreteman

    concreteman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    sillycone valley
    dude you must have been at this a while and the db file for this must look pretty strange. my nameserver dbs don[t have much more than this.
    your dig says you got 13 answers but none with authortity

    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.servershit.com.
    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN NS ns2.servershit.com.
    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN A XX.XX.XXX.XX

    localhost.ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN A 127.0.0.1

    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN MX 0 ns1.servershit.com.


    mail 14400 IN CNAME ns1.servershit.com.
    www 14400 IN CNAME ns1.servershit.com.
    ftp 14400 IN CNAME ns1.servershit.com.

    my ns2 looks like this with a different ip
    when you do dig and it says 2 authority... nameservers, you got it.
    mine reads 1 answer 2 authority 1 additional being localhost

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi everyone, I just ran another dig on the domain that is not working and this was the results:

    root@ [/]# dig @ns1.domain.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> @ns1.domain.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 11606
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 13, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 13

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;. IN NS

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    . 301951 IN NS I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 198.41.0.4
    B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 128.9.0.107
    C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.33.4.12
    D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 128.8.10.90
    E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.203.230.10
    F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.5.5.241
    G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.112.36.4
    H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 128.63.2.53
    I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.36.148.17
    J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.58.128.30
    K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 193.0.14.129
    L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 198.32.64.12
    M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 202.12.27.33



    Any help on what any of that means, and a really good explaination as to what I need to do. I am just a reseller myself that has been left to deal with this problem on my own by my system admin. He says he has no idea whats going on, that was a week ago and he has not responded to my tells or anything. Hopefully you can post some step by step instructions on what I should do. So the best help you can offer here would be terrific.


    I only want to get these 2 clients of mine up and running so I dont loose them.

    Also I can do a traceroute on the nameserver and it traces properly. However a domain name under his account with the nameservers pointing properly is not resolving.


    Sincerely,

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Everyone, any idea how to get the authority of these nameservers from 0 to 2 ? I have no idea how to do this, as I said my admin left me hanging on this, I am just trying to patch the best together in a poor situation.

    Chris



    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page