Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Reseller DNS - NS Not working, Help required

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by atlantis, May 31, 2003.

  1. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hellow everyone, this is going to be a large post and I am hoping some of you take the time to read it all and have some suggesstions as to what else I can try or do.


    I have since taken on 2 new resellers and have set up thier nameservers just like all the others I have already setup.

    This is the problem. I create the hosting account and than convert it to a Reseller, I created the nameservers added the A name to them and had the resellers go to thier registers and create the proper name servers. I have since also confirmed that yes they did do it properly.

    When run a DNS test on the domain this is what I get:

    A timeout occurred getting the NS records from your nameservers! None of your nameservers responded fast enough. They are probably down or unreachable. I can't continue since your nameservers aren't responding.


    When I run a DNS test on the nameserver itself this is what I get:

    [ERROR: I was unable to get an answer from the parent servers, when I tried to find the NS records for ns1.thedomain.com.]

    These tests were performed at: http://dnsreport.com


    Things I have tried:

    - Deleted and recreated the accounts and namservers
    - recreated the A Records
    - Add a DNS Zone
    - Edit a DNS Zone
    - Delete a DNS Zone
    - Perform a DNS Cleanup

    I have read about 30 pages of threads that came back in the search I tried to look for this solution.


    If anyone has any clue as to why these 2 new resellers and thier nameservers are not working or any suggesstions for me, Please post them, I am at a loss as to what is going on and I am sure if I cant get this resolved I will loose them both , understandably.


    Sincerely,

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  3. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    hi Howard and thank you for the reply. Everything comes up fine on this search. What does thins mean do you think? Does this mean its a sever issue or a register issue ?

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    hmm have you tried doing dig @reseller-nameserver domain any (both on server and from another server if possible)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi Howard, I did those commands, was that like a flush of the system, as in like a clean up of DNS files, or am I looking for something outta whack? If I am looking for something out of whatk, what should I be looking for, are there any common issues that I should first seek out?


    Sincerely,

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi Howard, check this out. These are 2 different "digs" i did on 2 different resellers, one aworks the other doesnt. check it out.


    The one thats not working.


    root@neo [/]# dig @ns1.domain.com
    dig: Couldn't find server 'ns1.domainl.com': Name or service not known



    The Working one.

    root@neo [/]# dig @ns1.domain.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> @ns1.domain.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 44406
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 13, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 13


    Any idea what that means ?

    Thanks in advance.

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #6 atlantis, Jun 2, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2003
  7. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    That means the dig program (which basically allows you to query for general or for specfic dns records at a server e.g. to see a record for www.domain.com) could not for whatever reason find the ip for the hostname ns1.domainl.com so it couldn't send a query

    Have you setup the ns1.domainl.com hostname as a nameserver in whm? If so have you tried clicking on the Add A entry button ? (beside the textbox containing the ns1.domainl.com text)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi Howard thanks for the fast reply. Yes I have created the nameserver and also created the A name. Did it a couple of time in my troubleshooting venture.


    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    and ns1 is in /var/named/domainl.com.db right? (e.g. as ns1 14400 IN A ip.address may not be exact but should be something like that?)

    Do the logs in /var/log say any problems when restarting named/bind ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. concreteman

    concreteman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    sillycone valley
    dude you must have been at this a while and the db file for this must look pretty strange. my nameserver dbs don[t have much more than this.
    your dig says you got 13 answers but none with authortity

    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.servershit.com.
    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN NS ns2.servershit.com.
    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN A XX.XX.XXX.XX

    localhost.ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN A 127.0.0.1

    ns1.servershit.com. 14400 IN MX 0 ns1.servershit.com.


    mail 14400 IN CNAME ns1.servershit.com.
    www 14400 IN CNAME ns1.servershit.com.
    ftp 14400 IN CNAME ns1.servershit.com.

    my ns2 looks like this with a different ip
    when you do dig and it says 2 authority... nameservers, you got it.
    mine reads 1 answer 2 authority 1 additional being localhost

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi everyone, I just ran another dig on the domain that is not working and this was the results:

    root@ [/]# dig @ns1.domain.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> @ns1.domain.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 11606
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 13, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 13

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;. IN NS

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    . 301951 IN NS I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 301951 IN NS H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 198.41.0.4
    B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 128.9.0.107
    C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.33.4.12
    D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 128.8.10.90
    E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.203.230.10
    F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.5.5.241
    G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.112.36.4
    H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 128.63.2.53
    I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.36.148.17
    J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 192.58.128.30
    K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 193.0.14.129
    L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 198.32.64.12
    M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 388351 IN A 202.12.27.33



    Any help on what any of that means, and a really good explaination as to what I need to do. I am just a reseller myself that has been left to deal with this problem on my own by my system admin. He says he has no idea whats going on, that was a week ago and he has not responded to my tells or anything. Hopefully you can post some step by step instructions on what I should do. So the best help you can offer here would be terrific.


    I only want to get these 2 clients of mine up and running so I dont loose them.

    Also I can do a traceroute on the nameserver and it traces properly. However a domain name under his account with the nameservers pointing properly is not resolving.


    Sincerely,

    Chris

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. atlantis

    atlantis Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hey Everyone, any idea how to get the authority of these nameservers from 0 to 2 ? I have no idea how to do this, as I said my admin left me hanging on this, I am just trying to patch the best together in a poor situation.

    Chris



    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice