The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

reseller nameserver ips

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by WilliamE, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. WilliamE

    WilliamE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    We migrated many accounts to new servers. I've searched back through past posts but haven't found a solution to this.

    When trying to assign an ip to a reseller's nameserver (ns.reseller.com) I get the message:
    Sorry, the nameserver ns.reseller.com already has the ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx assigned to it.

    It's not showing in the list through the WHM. I've turned off the whois lookup for nameserver manager in the tweak settings. They are not listed in /etc/nameserverips

    I've manually edited /etc/nameserverips that causes them to show up in the list via the WHM however if I go to the reseller center and go to manage their nameserver and click to create an A record for it it picks up the old IP again. Doing a whois of their name server doesn't bring up any IP (don't think these people have it registered through their registrar yet).

    Any ideas on where it's picking up the old IP from?
     
  2. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I dont know where it is picking it up (maybe httpd.conf?), but on reseller name servers you should not click on the assign IP address. In the reseller center under edit privledges/nameservers the bottom lines you should put the ns1.resellerdomain.com and ns2.resellerdomain.com and thats it. They should not have a IP associated with it because your main nameserver IP's will be used by default. They can go into their DNS zone and add a A record with ns1.resellerdomain.com and IP for ns1 etc.. for NS2

    Hope this helps some.
     
  3. WilliamE

    WilliamE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We want each of our reseller's name servers to run from it's own IP address, not the default name server IPs on the server. They were setup this way on the old servers. Regardless of whether this is attempted from the "Nameserver IPs" menu item or from the "Reseller Centre", they both give the same error message so somewhere on the server it must have this old IP address saved.
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you checked the reseller info in /var/cpanel/?
     
  5. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    There is an option in the "tweak settings" area that allows nameserver IPs to be used even if assigned elsewhere. :)

    That's the option you need to enable/disable to get this working.

    Cheers!

    :)
     
  6. MattFulger

    MattFulger Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Reseller Nameservers...

    Electric,

    I'm having a problem with getting a resellers nameserver to
    work as well. I don't see the option you mentioned in "tweak settings".

    He uses his own nameservers and they worked fine on the old
    server, but I can't seem to get them to work now. I don't know
    much about setting up nameservers in WHM. Is there any kind
    of tutorial on this? The users guide isn't much help at all. It doesn't
    really tell you how to set this up.

    I mean do I have to make an A entry for the nameserver or what?
    Also, do I have to set this up for each domain under this reseller
    or just the main reseller account?

    A step by step tutorial would be great for these things.

    Thank in Advance!

    Peace & Prosperity,
    Matt Fulger
     
  7. markhard

    markhard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i think WHM get it from domain registry. you should register a nameserver (with it's IP) to domain registry right? so try change the IP registered on domain registry via your domain name control panel.
     
  8. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Hi,
    Just log into shell by using root ANd

    Edit the file pico /etc/nameserverips.
    The format of the file is IP address = name server. For example:

    123.345.67.123=ns1.reseller.net

    Just add or edit the IP address that you want to add in the first part and the name of the new name server in the second part.
    Its that easy :D

    And dont forget to change the old IP at your domain registrar to the new IP for your nameservers!
    If its still propagating to the old IP then you just need to wait a little , as IP propagation for name servers takes up to 72 hours
     
    #8 gorilla, Dec 4, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page