The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reseller package woe

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kingman, Oct 25, 2002.

  1. Kingman

    Kingman Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As a new user to WHM/cPanel I have to say I'm very impressed. I'm struggling however to get my head around various aspects of the reseller features.

    Each reseller account is in effect a normal hosting package just with reseller rights addigned in the Reseller Centre, yes?

    So, in that case if I have a reseller plan allowing 1 Gb space / 10 Gb bandwidth, should I assign all this to the resellers main account, just allocate it in the Reseller Centre, or both?

    I assume I should then transfer ownership of the resellers main account to him/her. If their account has the total resources, won't this prevent them from creating any accounts?

    EDIT: Also, if I do not transfer the ownership of the main resellers domain to them, will their resource usage come out of their allocation? Should it be set at the same as the reseller package?

    Sorry if any of the above is hard to understand what I mean but me = very confused :)

    Any tips appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Kingman

    Kingman Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for your reply.

    Thats certainly something I've not thought of before but how would it affect the resellers private nameservers (nsx.theirdomain.com)?

    Would this process work do you think:

    - Setup reseller account using your method
    - Setup normal account for resellers domain
    - Transfer ownership to resellers account (setup above)
    - In Resellers Centre, setup reseller privs for main reseller account (setup in step 1)
    - Set it to use nameservers based on their actual domain (setup in step 2)

    Thank you again :)
     
  3. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:c49f51d5b0][i:c49f51d5b0]Originally posted by thaphantom[/i:c49f51d5b0]

    Domain: username.reseller
    [/quote:c49f51d5b0]
    Is this a domain name or a dummy account name? Can you give an example supposing the reseller's name is bella and the reller's domain is reseller.com. Briefly how do you setup this reseller?

    Norman
     
  4. Kingman

    Kingman Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:d5ca715441][i:d5ca715441]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:d5ca715441]

    [quote:d5ca715441][i:d5ca715441]Originally posted by thaphantom[/i:d5ca715441]

    Domain: username.reseller
    [/quote:d5ca715441]
    Is this a domain name or a dummy account name? Can you give an example supposing the reseller's name is bella and the reller's domain is reseller.com. Briefly how do you setup this reseller?

    Norman[/quote:d5ca715441]

    I'll try and be some help even though I'm still unsure myself.

    - Setup dummy account with the domain bella.reseller (the user/pass will be given to the user as their WHM details)
    - Setup account with domain reseller.com (user/pass given to account holder as their domain details)
    - Transfer ownership of real domain account (reseller.com) to bella.reseller.

    To be honest, I'm still unsure of how resellers and their quotas are handled and its not getting much easier. I'm seriously thinking of looking around for a different control panel to use on the reseller server because of this.
     
  5. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes thank you, however my question was: when you say domain bella.reseller, is reseller literally the word &reseller& (without a domain name) or do you set it as in: bella.resellerdomain.com?
     
  6. Kingman

    Kingman Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:1b13358123][i:1b13358123]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:1b13358123]

    Yes thank you, however my question was: when you say domain bella.reseller, is reseller literally the word &reseller& (without a domain name) or do you set it as in: bella.resellerdomain.com?
    [/quote:1b13358123]
    Yes literally the domain being 'username.reseller'.

    I don't think it matters too much so you can use 'username.reseller.com' if you want.
     
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can now see the simple but effective logic of doing it that way. Thank you both. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page