The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reseller packages and overselling

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NNNils, Feb 11, 2003.

  1. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did not allow overselling for resellers, but they are able to oversell.

    Is it not possible anymore to just give them some space which they can divide over accounts until there reseller is full?

    So, before it was like this:

    With reseller package of 100 MB after adding 4 accounts of 25 MB each, it was full.

    Now it is like this, whatever I try, it keeps possible to oversell:

    With reseller package of 100 MB, accounts of 10000 MB can be created.


    Can someone explain it to me?
     
  2. FijianTribe

    FijianTribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I believe the added functioinality was brought in through newer releases. I think what would work best, and there does not seem to be a way to do this, is to have a selection which allows overselling or not. Currently it seems that you are just allowed to now oversell.
     
  3. icehosting

    icehosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    CPANEL bug

    Hello,
    i use the latest stable verion of cpanel.
    I NOT accept for my resellers overselling.
    But is there a trick for this.
    I give a example:
    my reseller have 1G space and 10G BW, and i NOT have add overselling feature.

    My reseller create 10 accounts with 100Mbyte space and 1G BW per account

    After this edit the BW and the space of this accounts at any number.
    so finally my reseller can have 100G space and 1000G BW very easy.
    Cpanel have a stupid system for overselling. every reseller canot use more BW and space in create account feature, but can overselling with the others options of cpanel.
    I hope this very important bug can be resolved soon.
    Regards,
    Christos
     
  4. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:b34ac4a768][i:b34ac4a768]Originally posted by FijianTribe[/i:b34ac4a768]

    I believe the added functioinality was brought in through newer releases. I think what would work best, and there does not seem to be a way to do this, is to have a selection which allows overselling or not. Currently it seems that you are just allowed to now oversell.[/quote:b34ac4a768]

    So there is no way I can use the old system again?

    What will happen when a reseller used all his resources. Will all his accounts be suspended automatically?
     
  5. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am sorry, but I can't find that checkbox. I believe I once saw it (something like &allow overselling&) but it seems gone now.

    Maybe this option was simply deleted?
     
  6. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I found that when creating new accounts, limits are still used.

    But users can change quota and limit bandwidth use as much as they want, also upgrading is unlimited.
     
  7. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can no-one help with this????
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    WHM & Server Setup & Reseller Center & Edit Reseller Privileges/Nameservers

    Scroll down till you find:
    Limit Accounts xxxxxx can create by Resource Usage

    Resource - Max Allowed - Overselling Allowed
    (in IE these Headers will not show as the HTML is incorrect - highlight to see them)

    Disk Space [input box] Megabytes [checkbox]
    Bandwidth [input box] Megabytes [checkbox]

    If you use this area for defining Reseller Privilages, you set a specific amount of Disk Space and Data Transfer. Once a Reseller has reached those limits they cannot create new accounts -- does not have any effect on currently setup accounts of theirs.

    To increase their Privilages without creating/changing to another Reseller Package, simply re-adjust their settings and change to whatever you want.
     
  9. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Overselling Allowed is OFF

    Resellers cannot CREATE packages above their limits, but they can create a package within their limit and then UPGRADE it to a package above their limit.

    That's what my problem is.
     
  10. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  11. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have Overselling ON (displays more precisely within Reseller's WHM that way) and I do not anything checked (allowed) for Unlimited anything. No Resellers of mine are able to go above what I allot them, that way.
     
  12. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:3c92f34e8f][i:3c92f34e8f]Originally posted by Website Rob[/i:3c92f34e8f]

    I have Overselling ON (displays more precisely within Reseller's WHM that way) and I do not anything checked (allowed) for Unlimited anything. No Resellers of mine are able to go above what I allot them, that way.[/quote:3c92f34e8f]

    I want resellers with account of 100 MB to be able to create max. 4 accounts of 25 MB and then get an error.
     
  13. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Then you would have to use the &Limit The Amount of Accounts xxxx can create by number to &X& accounts.& feature, instead of limiting by Resources, which is the method used above in my example.
     
  14. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No that was just an example, I want them to create any package they like until their space is full.

    That's how it works now, but problem is: when they reached their top they can simply upgrade to any package they like, also in the above example.
     
  15. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I reported this to cpanel support, but they did not respond yet.
     
  16. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Something tells me we have a communication problem. If you are saying that your Resellers can click on &Upgrade / Downgrade an Account& for one of their Domains and see every package available on the Server, then you have incorrectly setup your Reseller accounts.

    As this topic (Setting up Reseller Accounts) has already been covered in detail, in other posts, I would suggest you do a Search and read up on them. If the above situation is not the problem, then you would need to explain, step-by-step, just what -- exactly -- is the problem.

    Otherwise, we're just going around in circles.
     
  17. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Look I want to give my resellers for example these packages:

    10 MB space 1 Gb data
    50 MB space 5 GB data

    They get 500 MB space and 50 GB data

    What they can do now should be:

    Create 10 packages of 50 MB and 5 GB.

    But, they can do this:

    Create 50 packages of 10 MB and 1 GB and upgrade every package to 50 MB / 5GB

    They then use 2500 MB space and 250 GB traffic!

    So the only solution would be:

    Offer 1 package and limit accounts by number.

    Which is of course a stupid option, because resellers should be able to create packages of different sizes.
     
Loading...

Share This Page