The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reseller Transfer accounts (no root)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xous, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. xous

    xous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Is there a way to transfer multiple accounts from a reseller account on a server you don't have root on to a server you have root on?

    I've been moving a lot of resellers onto our servers and it's becoming ridiculous to manually transfer each account.

    Any API magic I can do?
     
  2. rapidvps brasil

    rapidvps brasil Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The manual backup you create is the CPanel?

    The manual backup you create is the CPanel?
     
  3. xous

    xous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, currently I'm logging into each cPanel account via WHM and having it transfer the backup to the new server via sftp.
     
  4. Gabbadude

    Gabbadude Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im currently in the process of moving to a new host and I find that the cost to move all my clients over to the new host is ridiculously expensive. I would also like to know this answer
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only methods available to you (having only reseller access on the source server) involve transferring accounts one at a time. The two methods are:

    1. Generate a full site backup, have it placed on your server and restore from this backup in WHM (a reliable method)

    2. Using the "Copy an account from another server with account password" which is not a recommended method of transfer. This should be the last option to be considered for transferring accounts.
     
  6. Gabbadude

    Gabbadude Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When you say "generate a full site backup", are you referring to 1 big backup of all clients doing this through WHM? or how do you mean? I know it's a stupid question, but bare with a noob :P
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am referencing when you login to the cPanel interface, click on Backups then click on Download/Generate a Full Backup :)
     
  8. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    cPanelDavidG

    Is there any reason that if the destination server has the reseller's username and password, that it cannot get the account list and use the transfer multiple accounts function?

    I realize the remote might be using a different port for SSH but the person being moved can ask the old host for the SSH port and that problem is solved.

    It just seems like a feature cPanel has been lacking forever. And I forget why. Is it worthy of a feature request or not worth the time it takes to file the bugzilla on it because it won't ever be an option?
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think it would be worthy of a feature request.
     
  10. MACscr

    MACscr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelDavidG,

    Did a feature request get logged for this? If so, what was decided? This seems like it could be fairly easy to implement and it would definitely be useful.
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A feature request for this has been discussed at http://forums.cpanel.net/f145/migration-accounts-without-ssh-157369.html but there so far seems to be a severe lack of support for this functionality.
     
Loading...

Share This Page